SPORTS

CAN 2022: Tunisia-Mali, an unprecedented end to the meeting 

The match between Tunisia and Mali (score 0-1) during the African Cup of Nations, this Wednesday, January 12, ended on a dramatic note, with premature whistles from Zambian central referee Janny Sikazwe of the encounter. This end to the match drew a lot of anger from the Tunisian side and tarnished the image of African football internationally. 

During the first match of group F of CAN 2022 (Tunisia-Mali), the end of the match turned into a real cinema the Zambian referee Janny Sikazwe who was in charge of the game decided without reason to put an end to the meeting for the first time in the 85th minute of play, before resuming a few seconds later, in total incomprehension. A clearly unjustifiable decision. 

He finally stopped the game for real 15 seconds from the end (89th minute and 45 seconds) before the end of regulation time. Without even taking into account a possible additional time, since several changes have been made, no less than nine, as well as several stoppages of play in particular that caused by his imaginary whistle rather and revision in the VAR. Another absurd fact is that the fourth referee was going to raise his panel to announce additional time when the referee whistled the end of the match.  

This decision did not please the staff of the Tunisian team who quickly went on the field to ask the referees for an explanation. In view of the anger of the Tunisians, nicknamed “the Eagles of Carthage, the refereeing corps had to leave the field under security escort. 

“He practically deprives us of seven or eight minutes of added time. His decision is inexplicable”, declared the coach of the Tunisian team, Mondher Kebaier, in a press conference after the match. 

Advertisements

To silence controversy, about 20 minutes after the referee's decision. The CAF (African Football Confederation) attempted a resumption of the match, at least a few minutes of additional time with another referee. The Malians returned to the field, but not the Tunisians who for the most part were already on the bus. The referee therefore finally whistled the end of the meeting which will remain forever in the annals. 

As for Zambian referee Janny Sikazwe, he is in his fifth AFCON, he also participated in the 2018 World Cup and refereed African club cup finals. And is already the subject of serious scandals in African football. 

EDITOR: Roodson WARRIOR

COPYRIGHT: NETALKOLE MEDIA 2022

Facebook Comments

Netalkole Media
Stay informed 7 days a week, 24 hours a day, of major Haitian and international news events.

SPORTS

CAN 2022: Tunisie- Mali, une fin de rencontre inédite 

Listen to this article

Le match opposant la Tunisie face au Mali (score 0-1) lors de la Coupe d’Afrique des Nations, ce mercredi 12 janvier a terminé sur un coup de théâtre, avec des coups de sifflet prématuré de l’arbitre central zambien Janny Sikazwe de la rencontre. Cette fin de match a attiré pas mal de colères du côté tunisien et a terni l’image du football africain à l’échelle internationale. 

Lors du premier match du groupe F de la CAN 2022(Tunisie-Mali), la fin du match s’est virée en un véritable cinéma l’arbitre zambien Janny Sikazwe qui dirigeait la partie a décidé sans raison de mettre un terme à la rencontre pour une première fois à la 85e minute de jeu, avant de reprendre quelques secondes après, dans l’incompréhension totale. Une décision visiblement injustifiable. 

Il a finalement arrêté pour de vrai le match à 15 secondes de la fin (soit à la 89e minute et 45 secondes) avant la fin des temps réglementaires. Sans même tenu compte d’un possible temps additionnel, puisque plusieurs changements ont été réalisés, pas moins de neuf, ainsi que plusieurs arrêts de jeu notamment celui occasionné par son coup de sifflet imaginaire plutôt et révision dans la VAR. Autre fait absurde, c’est que le quatrième arbitre allait, lever son panneau, pour annoncer le temps additionnel au moment où l’arbitre a sifflé la fin du match.  

Cette décision n’a pas plu au Staff de l’équipe tunisienne qui s’était vite monté sur le terrain pour demander de l’explication aux arbitres. Au regard de la colère des Tunisiens, surnommés ” les Aigles de Carthage, le corps arbitral a dû quitter le terrain sous escorte de la sécurité. 

“Il nous prive pratiquement de sept ou huit minutes de temps additionnel. Sa décision est inexplicable”, a déclaré le sélectionneur de l’équipe tunisienne, Mondher Kebaier, en conférence de presse d’après match. 

Advertisements

Pour faire taire les polémiques, environ 20 minutes après la décision de l’arbitre. La CAF (Confédération Africaine de Football) a tenté une reprise du match, pour le moins quelques minutes de temps additionnel avec un autre arbitre. Les Maliens ont revenu sur le terrain, mais pas les tunisiens qui pour la plupart étaient déjà en bus. L’arbitre a donc finalement sifflé la fin de la rencontre qui restera à jamais dans les annales. 

En ce qui concerne l’arbitre zambien Janny Sikazwe, il est à sa cinquième CAN, il a également participé à la Coupe du monde 2018 et arbitré des finales de coupes africaines des clubs. Et fait l’objet déjà de sérieux scandales dans le foot africains. 

REDACTION : Roodson GUERRIER

COPYRIGHT : NETALKOLE MEDIA 2022

Click to download NetAlkole News App Free

Facebook Comments

Netalkole Media
Restez informé(e) 7 jours sur 7, 24h sur 24, des événements marquants de l’actualité haitienne et internationale.