MOVIE THEATER

The Canadian government donates $3 million to the Fabienne Colas Foundation  

In the interest of increasing black talent in the Canadian film and television industry, Canadian authorities are granting $3 million to the Fabienne Colas Foundation this Wednesday, February 9. This donation will allow the foundation to set up the new ''Festwave'' Institute. 

In order to update some black entrepreneurs in the film and television industry, the Fabienne Colas Foundation (FFC) in conjunction with the support of the Government of Canada's Ecosystem Fund notified the general public this Wednesday, the launch of the Institute Festwave which will ensure a new structure in the film and television industry. 

The Fabienne Colas Foundation is a non-profit artistic organization, whose mission is to advance education in the field of the arts as well as to support the creation, production, promotion and distribution of Cinema, Art and of Culture in Canada, the United States, Haiti and elsewhere. 

The said Foundation is concerned about the new generation of film and television professionals. As a result, it will make available a spacious program so that it can more or less serve the previous generation. "After 17 years of social, cultural and economic impact in Canada and around the world, welcoming more than 2 million festival-goers, supporting and presenting more than 5,000 artists, granting scholarships and of excellence to film professionals", she said. 

In addition, the said institution took the opportunity to disclose its contribution to the gross domestic product (GDP) in Canada, which is estimated at $12.8 billion per year and a workforce of 170,000 people who benefit from full-time employment. . According to a Canadian government statistic, 52 % of Canadian artists and creative industry workers are self-employed, compared to only 12 % of all Canadian workers. 

Importance of cinema in a society   

In an environment where there are human beings, the cinema brings many sensations with themes that can address the end of life, death, certain illnesses. In addition, the cinema also contributes to the maintenance of cognitive functions and makes it possible to maintain a dynamic rhythm of life, open to the outside; a hobby that fulfills and brings people together. 

According to what the founder of the Institute reported Festwave of the said Foundation, Fabienne Colas, the idea of setting in motion the Institute Festwave is a long-term dream that will allow everyone to know and have a look at the reality of Canadian culture through the screen and behind the camera. "Cinema is a means of representing reality, of amplifying voices and the sector contributes greatly to our country", she confirms. 

Since its creation in 2005, with the aim of respecting its mission and satisfying its fans and artists, the Fabienne Colas Foundation has set up 12 festivals and programs aimed at breaking down barriers, celebrating diversity, promoting conviviality, understanding and inclusion. Its festivals have exposed and supported approximately 5,000 artists and fascinated millions of festival-goers in Canada, the United States, Haiti, Brazil, etc. 

Facebook Comments

Stevinsonne Jeune
Stevinsonne JEUNE, journalist and editor. Graduate student in legal sciences at the State University of Haiti Law practitioner in the Delmas peace court.

CINEMA

Le gouvernement canadien fait don de 3 millions de dollars à la Fondation Fabienne Colas  

Dans l’intérêt d’accroître les talents noirs dans l’industrie canadienne du cinéma et de la télévision, les autorités canadiennes octroient 3 millions de dollars à la Fondation Fabienne Colas ce mercredi 9 février. Ce don permettra à la fondation d’implanter le nouvel Institut ‘‘Festwave’’. 

Afin de mettre à jour certains entrepreneurs noirs dans l’industrie du cinéma et de la télévision, la Fondation Fabienne Colas (FFC) conjointement avec le soutien du Fonds pour l’écosystème du gouvernement du Canada ont avisé au grand public ce mercredi, le lancement de l’Institut Festwave qui va assurer une nouvelle structure dans l’industrie du film et de la télévision. 

La Fondation Fabienne Colas est un organisme artistique à but non lucratif, ayant pour mission de faire avancer l’éducation dans le domaine des arts ainsi que de soutenir la création, la production, la promotion et la diffusion du Cinéma, de l’Art et de la Culture au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Hait et ailleurs. 

Ladite Fondation se dit préoccupée par la nouvelle génération de professionnels du cinéma et de la télévision. De ce fait, elle va mettre à sa disponibilité un programme spacieux pour qu’elle puisse desservir plus ou moins la génération précédente. « Après 17 ans d’impact social, culturel et économique au Canada et dans le monde, en accueillant plus de 2 millions de festivaliers, en soutenant et en présentant plus de 5 000 artistes, en accordant des bourses d’études et des prix d’excellence aux professionnels du cinéma », a-t-elle fait savoir. 

Par ailleurs, ladite institution en a profité pour divulguer sa contribution au produit intérieur brut (PIB) au Canada qui est chiffré à une somme de 12,8 milliards de dollars par année et un effectif de 170 000 personnes qui bénéficient un emploi à temps plein. Suivant un statistique du gouvernement canadien, 52 % des artistes canadiens et des travailleurs de l’industrie créative sont des travailleurs indépendants, contre seulement 12 % de l’ensemble des travailleurs canadiens. 

Advertisements

Importance du cinéma dans une société   

Dans un milieu où il y a des êtres humains, le cinéma apporte bien des sensations avec des thèmes pouvant aborder la fin de vie, la mort, certaines maladies. En outre, le cinéma participe aussi au maintien des fonctions cognitives et permet de garder un rythme de vie dynamique, ouvert sur l’extérieur ; un loisir qui épanoui et qui rassemble. 

D’après ce qu’a rapporté la fondatrice de l’Institut Festwave de ladite Fondation, Fabienne Colas, l’idée de mettre en branle l’Institut Festwave est un rêve à long terme qui permettra à tout le monde de savoir et d’avoir un regard sur la réalité de la culture canadienne à travers l’écran et derrière la caméra. « Le cinéma est un moyen de représenter la réalité, d’amplifier les voix et le secteur contribue grandement à notre pays », confirme-t-elle. 

Depuis sa création en 2005, dans la cible de respecter sa mission et de satisfaire ses fans et ses artistes, la Fondation Fabienne Colas a mis sur pied 12 festivals et programmes visant à briser les barrières, à célébrer la diversité, à favoriser la convivialité, la compréhension et l’inclusion. Ses festivals ont permis d’exposer et de soutenir environ 5 000 artistes et fasciner des millions de festivaliers au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Haïti, au Brésil, etc. 

Facebook Comments

Stevinsonne Jeune
Stevinsonne JEUNE, journaliste et rédacteur. Étudiant finissant en sciences juridiques à l'Université d'État d'Haïti Praticien en Droit au sein du tribunal de paix de Delmas.