COMPANY

4.4 million people need humanitarian aid in Haiti according to the organization Médecins du Monde   

Image Source: National Geographic

The organization Doctors of the World, which deplored that the country is in “critical need”, indicated that the situation worsened following the earthquake of magnitude 7.2 on the Richter scale which took place in August and left over 2,000 dead, 60,000 buildings collapsed and over 75,000 buildings damaged. 

The NGO Doctors of the World warned on Monday that 4.4 million people, or about 40 % of the population, need humanitarian aid in Haiti, where nearly half a million people live without running water. 

With the arrival of new earthquakes in January 2022, the population went into a "panic", according to a press release from Médecins du Monde, which stressed that there is a strong demand for psychological help from the Haitians. 

The coordinator of the NGO in Haiti, Nicolas Demers Labrousse, deplored that five of the nine hospitals with which the organization works suffered serious damage. “Six months later, we are asking for attention to be paid to this country.” “The combination of earthquakes, hurricanes and pandemics, along with one of the most precarious health systems in the world and high levels of violence, make Haiti a country in a permanent health emergency” , he said. 

United Nations data indicates that 23 % of the population does not have access to essential health services. About 40 % of people who do not have access to health care are minors and 65 % are women and girls. This represents an increase of 26 % compared to 2020. 

In addition, more than 71,000 Haitians suffer from infectious and chronic diseases, while 456,000 inhabitants live with poor water and sanitation services, which can cause acute diarrhea, typhus and even cholera. 

The maternal mortality rate is the highest in the Americas, with 529 deaths per 100,000 population. Although the needs are great, humanitarian aid is often hampered by roadblocks erected by armed groups. 

“Now it is more difficult to reach the communes in which we work, such as Grand Goâve and Petit Goâve, south of the capital. A journey that usually takes just over two hours and can only be done by helicopter to a safe point that avoids the most conflicted areas of the city. For the transport of medical equipment, we coordinate with organizations that have a maritime freight transport network,” said María José Venceslá, coordinator of Médecins du Monde Spain in Haiti. 

Facebook Comments

Netalkole Media
Stay informed 7 days a week, 24 hours a day, of major Haitian and international news events.

SOCIÉTÉ

4,4 millions de personnes ont besoin d’aide humanitaire en Haïti selon l’organisation Médecins du Monde   

Source Image : National Geographic

L’organisation Médecins du Monde, qui a déploré que le pays soit en “besoin critique”, a indiqué que la situation s’est aggravée à la suite du séisme de magnitude 7,2 sur l’échelle de Richter qui a eu lieu en août et a fait plus de 2 000 morts, 60 000 bâtiments effondré et plus de 75 000 bâtiments endommagés. 

L’ONG Médecins du monde a averti ce lundi que 4,4 millions de personnes, soit environ 40 % de la population, ont besoin d’aide humanitaire en Haïti, où près d’un demi-million de personnes vivent sans eau courante. 

Avec l’arrivée de nouveaux tremblements de terre en janvier 2022, la population est entrée dans une “panique”, selon un communiqué de Médecins du Monde, qui a souligné qu’il y a une forte demande d’aide psychologique de la part des Haïtiens. 

Le coordonnateur de l’ONG en Haïti, Nicolas Demers Labrousse, a déploré que cinq des neuf hôpitaux avec lesquels l’organisation travaille aient subi de graves dommages.  “Six mois plus tard, nous demandons qu’on accorde de l’attention à ce pays.”  “La combinaison de tremblements de terre, d’ouragans et de pandémies, ainsi que l’un des systèmes de santé les plus précaires au monde et des niveaux élevés de violence, font d’Haïti un pays en situation d’urgence sanitaire permanente”, a-t-il affirmé. 

Advertisements

Les données des Nations Unies indiquent que 23 % de la population n’a pas accès aux services de santé essentiels.  Environ 40 % des personnes qui n’ont pas accès aux soins de santé sont des mineurs et 65 % sont des femmes et des filles.  Cela représente une augmentation de 26 % par rapport à 2020. 

De plus, plus de 71 000 Haïtiens souffrent de maladies infectieuses et chroniques, tandis que 456 000 habitants vivent avec des services d’eau et d’assainissement médiocres, ce qui peut provoquer des diarrhées aiguës, le typhus et même le choléra. 

Le taux de mortalité maternelle est le plus élevé des Amériques, avec 529 décès pour 100 000 habitants.  Bien que les besoins soient importants, l’aide humanitaire est souvent entravée par des barrages routiers dressés par des groupes armés. 

“Maintenant, il est plus difficile d’atteindre les communes dans lesquelles nous travaillons, comme Grand Goâve et Petit Goâve, au sud de la capitale.  Un trajet qui prend généralement un peu plus de deux heures et qu’il n’est possible de faire qu’en hélicoptère jusqu’à un point sûr qui permet d’éviter les quartiers les plus conflictuels de la ville.  Pour le transport de matériel médical, nous nous coordonnons avec les organisations qui disposent d’un réseau de transport de fret maritime », a déclaré María José Venceslá, coordinatrice de Médecins du Monde Espagne en Haïti. 

Facebook Comments

Netalkole Media
Restez informé(e) 7 jours sur 7, 24h sur 24, des événements marquants de l’actualité haitienne et internationale.