OBITUARY

Don Karnage, the Montreal rapper of Haitian origin is no longer 

image source: lapresse.ca

Haitian-born Montreal artist, Don Harley Fils-Aimé, better known as Don Karnage passed away on Tuesday, January 11, 2022. His cause of death has yet to be revealed.

The news spread through community networks, following a series of tribute messages to the rapper. First there is Chwristine Black, mayor of the borough of Montreal-North, who shared the news and her grief on Facebook on Tuesday, and also her sister, the dj Kid Crayola, who paid tribute to her on twitter.

The news has completely upset the Haitian community in Montreal, Fabienne Colas, actress and organizer of the Haiti en Folie festival and the Montreal International Black Film Festival, expressed herself on Facebook:

“The kindness, your great class, your smile that was like a ray of sunshine, your constant optimism, your passion for giving back to young people, your joie de vivre… I am speechless”.

Advertisements

The lawyer and singer of Haitian origin, Stéphane Moraille, also deplores the departure of this “devoted, brave and irreproachable” man, to the “chastened Frenchman”. "I burst into tears when I heard the news," she confessed, in an interview on Radio-Canada.

Don Karnage was successful in the late 1990s. Alongside his talents as a rapper, he was committed to his community, he taught languages and music. He also founded the Montreal English Immersion Club (CIAM). He was also one of the initiators of Culture X, an association that brought together people who teach music to provide singing lessons, music theory, musical instruments or even songwriting and sound for free.

He has produced two albums in his entire career: Vice versa, published in 1999, and Bouge, in 2002. On his first album, we find the flagship song “Don One”. One of his titles, "El Kompa" has won the hearts of many Haitian music lovers.

Before his disappearance, the rapper had the opportunity to visit Haiti more than once. Don Karnage is a man who was at the service of his neighbour, his whole life bears witness to his desire to help others. That his soul RAP (Repoze An Pè).  

Facebook Comments

Revital Lynch
Ray is a young web entrepreneur and journalist working in the multimedia world. He is passionate about technology and its related sciences.

NÉCROLOGIE

Don Karnage, le rappeur Montréalais d’origine haïtienne n’est plus 

source image : lapresse.ca

L’artiste Montréalais d’origine Haïtienne, Don Harley Fils-Aimé, mieux connu sous le nom de Don Karnage s’est éteint le mardi 11 janvier 2022. La cause de son décès n’a pas encore révélé.

La nouvelle s’est répandue à travers les réseaux communautaires, à la suite d’une série de messages d’hommage au rappeur. Il y d’abord Chwristine Black, mairesse de l’arrondissement de Montréal-Nord, qui a partagé la nouvelle ainsi que sa peine, mardi, sur Facebook et aussi sa sœur la dj Kid Crayola, qui lui a rendu hommage sur twitter.

La nouvelle a complètement bouleversé la communauté haïtienne à Montréal, Fabienne Colas, actrice et organisatrice du festival Haïti en Folie et le Festival international du film black de Montréal, s’est ainsi exprimé sur Facebook :

“La gentillesse, ta grande classe, ton sourire qui était comme un rayon de soleil, ton optimisme constant, ta passion de redonner aux jeunes, ta joie de vivre… Je suis sans mot”.

Advertisements

L’avocate et chanteuse d’origine haïtienne, Stéphane Moraille, déplore également le départ de cet homme “dévoué, valeureux et irréprochable”, au “Français châtié”. “J’ai fondu en larmes quand j’ai appris la nouvelle,” a-t-elle avoué, dans une entrevue sur Radio-Canada.

Don Karnage avait connu le succès à la fin des années 1990. À côté de ses talents de rappeur, il était engagé auprès de sa communauté, il enseignait les langues et la musique. Il a aussi fondé le Club d’immersion anglaise de Montréal (CIAM). Il était aussi un des initiateurs de Culture X, une association qui réunissait des personnes qui enseignent la musique pour dispenser des cours de chant, de solfège, d’instruments de musique ou encore d’écriture de chansons et de sonorisation gratuitement.

Il a produit deux albums dans toute sa carrière : Vice versa, publié en 1999, et Bouge, en 2002. Sur son premier album, on retrouve la chanson phare « Don One ». Un de ses titres, « El Kompa » a conquis le cœur de plusieurs mélomanes haïtiens.

Avant sa disparition, le rappeur a eu l’occasion de visiter Haïti plus d’une fois. Don Karnage est un homme qui était au service de son prochain, toute sa vie témoigne de sa volonté d’aider autrui. Que son âme RAP (Repoze An Pè).  

Facebook Comments

Revital Lynch
Ray est un jeune web entrepreneur et journaliste évoluant dans le monde du multimédia. Il est un passionné de la technologie et de ses sciences connexes.