NATIONALNETALKOLE

The image of the African-American poet and activist Maya Angelou appears on the 25-cent coins 

Listen to this article

A great first in the United States!! As part of a series called "Prominent American women" aimed at honoring several women of various origins who have marked their time and work to build a better tomorrow, coins will be made with their effigy, following to a vote in Congress, at the end of 2020, on a bill by the elected California Democrat Barbara Lee. 

The poet and activist Maya Angelou is the first to be honored in this way: her portrait appears on the 25-cent coins. These are not collectibles at all, but pieces that will be produced in large numbers and intended for everyday use.  

The effigy of the African-American poet and activist Maya Angelou appears on the 25-cent coins

The 25-cent coin, the most used coin in the United States, had been entitled to only a few rare alternative versions since 1932: 50 coins representing each of the American states, at the beginning of the 2000s, and another highlighting honor national parks and sites, from 2010 to 2021. 

The new coin depicts Maya Angelou with outstretched arms, behind her a bird and a rising sun. On the other side is, in keeping with tradition, the portrait of the first President of the United States George Washington. 

Advertisements

“Phenomenal women who have shaped American history have been ignored for far too long, especially women of color,” tweeted Democrat Marc Veasey, following the news.  

In 2016, the Obama administration decided to replace populist President Andrew Jackson on the $20 bill with black abolitionist Harriet Tubman, but Donald Trump abandoned the project during his term. 

Maya Angelou, born Marguerite Annie Johnsson is considered the most emblematic author of the condition of African-Americans in the United States. She was an important figure in the American civil rights movement and became an iconic figure in cultural and political life in the United States. 

Maya Angelou is known mainly for her poetry and especially her novel “I know why the bird sings in a cage” published in 1969 which allowed her to be famous. Barack Obama awarded him the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 2010. 

In this series of honor, there remains the astronaut and physicist Sally Ride, the politician and activist of Hispanic origin Nina Otero-Warren, or Wilma Mankiller, the first Native American to have occupied the head of the Cherokee Nation. 

Click to download NetAlkole News App Free

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journalist / Communicator / Bookstagramer.

ACTUALITÉSNETALKOLE

L’effigie de la poétesse et activiste afro-américaine Maya Angelou figure sur les pièces de 25 cents 

L'effigie de la poétesse et activiste afro-américaine Maya Angelou figure sur les pièces de 25 cents
play icon Leffigie de la poétesse et activiste afro américaine Maya Angelou figure sur les pièces de 25 cents Écoutez cet article

 

Une grande première aux États-Unis !! Dans le cadre d’une série baptisée “Prominent American women” visant à mettre à l’honneur plusieurs femmes d’origines diverses qui ont marqué leur temps et travailler à construire un lendemain meilleur, des pièces de monnaies seront faits à leur effigie, suite à un vote au Congrès, fin 2020, d’une proposition de loi de l’élue démocrate de Californie Barbara Lee. 

La poétesse et activiste Maya Angelou est la première à être honorée de cette manière : son portrait figure sur les pièces de 25 cents. Il ne s’agit pas du tout d’objets de collection, mais de pièces qui seront produites en grand nombre et destinées à être utilisées au quotidien.  

L'effigie de la poétesse et activiste afro-américaine Maya Angelou figure sur les pièces de 25 cents

La pièce de 25 cents, pièce la plus utilisée aux Etats-Unis, n’avait eu droit qu’à quelques rares versions alternatives depuis 1932 : 50 pièces représentant chacun des Etats américains, au début des années 2000, et une autre mettant à l’honneur les parcs et sites nationaux, de 2010 à 2021. 

La nouvelle pièce représente Maya Angelou les bras tendus, derrière elle un oiseau et un soleil levant. De l’autre côté figure, conformément à la tradition, le portrait du premier président des États-Unis Georges Washington. 

plisminit Leffigie de la poétesse et activiste afro américaine Maya Angelou figure sur les pièces de 25 cents 
Advertisements

“Les femmes phénoménales qui ont façonné l’histoire américaine sont ignorées depuis trop longtemps, en particulier les femmes de couleur” a tweeté le démocrate Marc Veasey, suite à cette nouvelle.  

En 2016, le gouvernement Obama avait décidé de remplacer sur les billets de 20 dollars le président populiste Andrew Jackson par l’abolitionniste noire Harriet Tubman mais Donald Trump avait abandonné le projet pendant son mandat. 

Maya Angelou, née Marguerite Annie Johnsson est considérée comme l’auteure la plus emblématique de la condition des Afro-Américains aux États-Unis. Elle a été une personnalité importante du mouvement américain pour les droits civiques et est devenue une figure emblématique de la vie culturelle et politique aux États-Unis. 

Maya Angelou est connue principalement pour sa poésie et surtout son roman “Je sais pourquoi l’oiseau chante en cage” paru en 1969 qui lui a permis d’être célèbre. Barack Obama lui avait décerné en 2010 la Médaille présidentielle de la liberté. 

Dans cette série d’honneur, il reste l’astronaute et physicienne Sally Ride, la politicienne et militante d’origine hispanique Nina Otero-Warren, ou encore Wilma Mankiller, la première amérindienne à avoir occupé la tête de la Nation Cherokee. 

Advertisements
Sign Up today Leffigie de la poétesse et activiste afro américaine Maya Angelou figure sur les pièces de 25 cents 

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journaliste / Communicatrice / Bookstagrameuse.

Tu pourrais aussi aimer

Plus dans:ACTUALITÉS