NETALKOLE

Oscar winner Sydney Poitié is dead 

Sydney Poitié died on Friday January 7, 2022, at the age of 94. He is the first black actor to win the Best Actor Oscar for his role in the 1964 film 'The Lily of the Field'. The announcement was made by Bahamian Deputy Prime Minister Chester Cooper. 

Sydney is an American-Bahamian actor and director. He was born in Miami, Florida on February 20, 1927, during his parents' trip to the United States. While the war of segregation had yet to come to an end in the United States, the African American won the Oscar for Best Actor in Hollywood, a major first in the history of American cinema for his role in ”Les Lys des champs” in 1964.Sydney Poitié died at the age of 94 

We have lost an icon, a hero, a mentor, a fighter, and a national treasure, ”the Deputy Prime Minister wrote of the late actor. For the moment no information is yet available on the causes of the legendary's disappearance. The Sydney icon was best known for her commitment to combating racial discrimination. The revolutionary actor changed the way we think about Hollywood cinema for his first role playing in films like "guess who's coming to dinner?" or “In the heat of the night”, the immense Sydney will forever remain a legend in cinema. Few stars manage to have an influence equal to the civil rights fighter. 

Advertisements

2002, Sidney Poitier received an honorary Oscar for his extraordinary performances, his dignity, his style and his intelligence  

EDITOR: Roodson Guerrier 

COPYRIGHT: NETALKOLE MEDIA 2021 

Facebook Comments

Netalkole Media
Stay informed 7 days a week, 24 hours a day, of major Haitian and international news events.

NETALKOLE

L’acteur oscarisé Sydney Poitié est mort 

Listen to this article

Sydney Poitié est décédé ce vendredi 7 janvier 2022, à l’âge de 94 ans. Il est le premier acteur noir à avoir remporté l’Oscar du meilleur acteur pour son rôle dans le film ” Le Lys des champs” en 1964. L’annonce a été faite par le vice-premier ministre des Bahamas, Chester Cooper. 

Sydney est un acteur et réalisateur américano-bahaméen. Il est né à Miami, en Floride le 20 février 1927, lors d’un voyage de ses parents aux Etats-Unis. Alors que la guerre de la ségrégation n’avait pas encore touché à sa fin aux États-Unis, l’Afro américain a décroché l’Oscar du meilleur acteur à Hollywood, une grande première dans l’histoire du cinéma américain pour son rôle dans ” les Lys des champs” en 1964.Sydney Poitié est décédé à l’âge de 94 ans 

Nous avons perdu une icône, un héros, un mentor, un combattant, et un trésor national », a écrit le vice-premier ministre au sujet de l’acteur décédé. Pour l’instant aucune information n’est encore disponible sur les causes de disparition du légendaire. L’icône Sydney était surtout connue pour son engagement dans lutte contre la discrimination raciale. L’acteur révolutionnaire a changé la manière dont on pense le cinéma hollywoodien pour son premier rôle jouer dans des films comme ” devine qui vient dîner ?” ou encore ” Dans la chaleur de la nuit”, l’immense Sydney reste à jamais une légende dans le cinéma. Peu de star arrive à avoir une influence égale au combattant des droits civiques. 

Advertisements

2002, Sidney Poitier a reçu un oscar d’honneur pour ses performances extraordinaires, sa dignité, son style et son intelligence  

REDACTION : Roodson Guerrier 

COPYRIGHT : NETALKOLE MEDIA 2021 

Click to download NetAlkole News App Free

Facebook Comments

Netalkole Media
Restez informé(e) 7 jours sur 7, 24h sur 24, des événements marquants de l’actualité haitienne et internationale.