POLITICS

Former Haitian President Michel Joseph Martelly Banned from Performing at Miami Music Festival  

Photo: Telerama.fr

Miami police will not allow former Haitian President Michel Joseph Martelly to perform on stage at a music festival to be held in "Little Haiti" this Saturday, May 21, 2022, citing security concerns under pressure from community members who say the controversial politician and singer is not welcome in the city, specifically in “Little Haiti”.  

Martelly, Haiti's 2011-2016 president and popular musician, drew protesters to a 2018 show in Miami that, like this weekend's event, took place at the Little Haiti Cultural Complex to celebrate Haitian Flag Day.  

A spokesperson for the Miami Police Department said this Friday, May 20, 2022, that a permit for the "Best of Haiti Music Fest" has not yet been issued for other unspecified reasons, but that any permit grant would be revoked if Martelly remained in the queue.  

The former president is a source of anger for many Haitians. Since leaving, Martelly has faced allegations of corruption and his political party PHTK, which has governed Haiti for a decade, has been blamed for escalating political instability and gang violence in the country.  

A lawsuit filed by members of the Haitian diaspora in U.S. federal court also accused Martelly and his successors of conspiring to fix the price of phone calls and money transfers to fund what the plaintiffs claim was a program non-existent education in Haiti reported the American newspaper.  

Advertisements

"I have family in Haiti who are hurting because of PHTK," said Tony Jeanthenor, who chairs the Haitian rights group Veye Yo and who co-wrote a May 13 letter to Miami Mayor Francis Suarez. opposing Martelly's presence in Miami.  

Jeanthenor said activists plan to demonstrate at the event on Saturday, even though Martelly isn't there, to pressure the mayor to permanently ban him from the city.  

"We're not going to stop until the city declares him persona non grata," he said.  

The former president has faced backlash ahead of performances in other cities, including Montreal, where a show was canceled in 2019 after opponents cited misogynistic comments and allegations of corruption. 

Facebook Comments

Mackendy Filderice
Political science student at Quisqueya University, Journalist-Editor at Netalkolemedia, Publicist, Humanitarian. Lover of life and learning.

POLITIQUE

L’ex-président haïtien, Michel Joseph Martelly interdit de se produire au festival de musique de Miami  

Photo : Telerama.fr

La police de Miami n’autorisera pas l’ancien président haïtien, Michel Joseph Martelly de produire sur scène à un festival de musique qui se tiendra à “Little Haïti”, ce samedi 21 mai 2022, citant des problèmes de sécurité sous la pression des membres de la communauté qui disent que le politicien et chanteur controversé n’est pas le bienvenu dans la ville, précisément à “Little Haïti”.  

Martelly, le président d’Haïti de 2011 à 2016 et musicien populaire, a attiré des manifestants lors d’un spectacle de 2018 à Miami qui, comme l’événement de ce week-end, a eu lieu au Little Haïti Cultural Complex pour célébrer le Jour du drapeau haïtien ( Haitian flag day).  

Un porte-parole du service de police de Miami a déclaré ce vendredi 20 mai 2022, qu’un permis pour le « Best of Haiti Music Fest » n’a pas encore été délivré pour d’autres raisons non précisées, mais que tout permis accorder serait révoqué si Martelly restait dans la file d’attente.  

L’ancien président est une source de colère pour de nombreux Haïtiens. Depuis son départ, Martelly  fait face à des allégations de corruption et son parti politique PHTK, qui gouverne Haïti depuis une décennie, a été blâmé pour l’escalade de l’instabilité politique et de la violence des gangs dans le pays.  

Une action en justice intentée par des membres de la diaspora haïtienne devant un tribunal fédéral américain a également accusé Martelly et ses successeurs de comploter pour fixer le prix des appels téléphoniques et des transferts d’argent afin de financer ce que les demandeurs prétendent être un programme d’éducation inexistant en Haïti a rapporté le journal américain.  

Advertisements

« J’ai de la famille en Haïti qui souffre à cause du PHTK », a déclaré Tony Jeanthenor, qui préside le groupe haïtien de défense des droits Veye Yo et qui a co-écrit une lettre du 13 mai au maire de Miami Francis Suarez s’opposant à la présence de Martelly à Miami.  

Jeanthenor a déclaré que les militants prévoient de manifester lors de l’événement samedi, même si Martelly n’est pas là, pour faire pression sur le maire pour qu’il l’interdit définitivement de la ville.  

« Nous n’allons pas nous arrêter tant que la ville ne l’aura pas déclaré persona non grata », a-t-il déclaré.  

L’ancien président a fait face à des réactions avant des représentations dans d’autres villes, y compris Montréal, où un spectacle a été annulé en 2019 après que des opposants aient cité des commentaires misogynes et des allégations de corruption. 

Facebook Comments

Mackendy Filderice
Étudiant en sciences politiques à l'Université Quisqueya, Journaliste-Rédacteur à Netalkolemedia, Publiciste, Humanitaire. Amoureux de la vie et de l'apprentissage.