INTERVIEW

Any cash reimbursement of the independence indemnity would be wasted like Petrocaribe, says historian Georges Michel

any cash reimbursement of the independence indemnity would be wasted as petrocaribe, says historian georges michel

During an intervention on Radio Magik 9 this Wednesday, May 25, 2022 on the program Panel Magik, the Haitian historian Georges Michel declared that it would be better if the independence indemnity was not paid in cash to Haiti because it would be squandered like the Petrocaribe funds. 

Following this series of articles published by the American newspaper of the New York Times on the “debt” of independence demanded by France in Haiti, the reactions rain and come from everywhere. If almost unanimously Haitians and part of the rest of the world think that this money must be returned, opinions are however divided on the means of reimbursement. For the historian Georges Michel, this restitution must be done in kind and not in cash, therefore in the form of very long-term financing of projects. 

“M ap mande restitisyon an, pa sou fòm yon lajan kach pou lonje bay politisyen ayisyen, men sou fòm finansman pwojè pandan lontan,” said Dr. Georges Michel. 

Advertisements

For nearly fifty years, that is, throughout the 19th century, Haiti paid France several hundred million US dollars. A huge sum that practically ruined the Haitian economy, which was largely based on coffee production. According to the estimates made by the many economists met by the journalists of the New York Times, this sum would have estimated at more than 21 billion American dollars. 

To recall that the restitution of this sum paid by Haiti to France for the recognition of Haitian independence had already been raised in the past. Former President Jean Bertrand Aristide, the last head of state who had asked for the reimbursement of this money as well as compensation for the harm caused by slavery, was overthrown on February 29, 2004, then went into exile in South Africa a few days later. 

Facebook Comments

Jacky Chery
Student in Social Communication and Legal Sciences at UEH, also Journalist-editor at Netalkole Media. A passion for writing and reading.

INTERVIEW

Tout remboursement en espèce de l’indemnité de l’indépendance serait dilapidé comme Petrocaribe, affirme l’historien Georges Michel

tout remboursement en espèce de l'indemnité de l'indépendance serait dilapidé comme petrocaribe, affirme l'historien georges michel

Lors d’une intervention à la Radio Magik 9 ce mercredi 25 mai 2022 à l’émission Panel Magik, l’historien haïtien Georges Michel a déclaré qu’il serait mieux que l’indemnité de l’indépendance ne soit pas versée en espèce à Haïti car elle serait dilapidée comme les fonds Petrocaribe. 

Suite à cette série d’articles publiée par le journal américain du New York Times sur la “dette” de l’indépendance exigée par la France à Haïti, les réactions pleuvent et viennent de partout. Si presqu’à l’unanimité les haïtiens et une partie du reste du monde pensent que cet argent doit être restitué, les avis sont pourtant partagés sur les moyens du remboursement. Pour l’historien Georges Michel, cette restitution doit se faire par nature et non en espèce, donc sous forme de financement à très long terme de projets. 

« M ap mande restitisyon an, pa sou fòm yon lajan kach pou lonje bay politisyen ayisyen, men sou fòm finansman pwojè pandan lontan», avait déclaré le Dr Georges Michel. 

Advertisements

Pendant près d’une cinquantaine d’années, soit tout au long du 19e siècle, Haïti a payé à la France plusieurs centaines de millions de dollars américains. Une somme faramineuse qui a pratiquement ruiné l’économie haïtienne qui était en grande partie basée sur la production du café. Selon les estimations faites par les nombreux économistes rencontrés par les journalistes du New York Times, cette somme aurait estimé à plus de 21 milliards de dollars américains. 

À rappeler que la restitution de cette somme payée par Haïti à la France pour la reconnaissance de l’indépendance haïtienne avait déjà été soulevée par le passé. L’ex-président Jean Bertrand Aristide, le dernier chef d’État qui avait demandé le remboursement de cet argent ainsi que réparation aux torts causés par l’esclavage, a été renversé le 29 février 2004, puis parti en exil en Afrique du Sud quelques jours plus tard. 

Facebook Comments

Jacky Chery
Étudiant en Communication Sociale et en Sciences Juridiques à l'UEH, également Journaliste-redacteur à Netalkole Media. Un passionné de l'écriture et de la lecture.