EVENT

10 places in the world where Easter is celebrated

image source: franceinfo

Holy Week, the time when the end of the forty days of fasting and penance that make up Lent is celebrated, is deeply rooted in many countries of the world, where performances of the Passion of Jesus Christ take place.. 

Today we present to you ten places where Holy Week is celebrated with the greatest fervor, such that all these countries have become an essential tourist destination for travelers who love religious acts. 

READ ALSO:

Manje pwason, moute kap pandan semèn sent, ki kote tradisyon sila yo soti? 

Spain  

The celebration of Holy Week in Spain has a deep-rooted tradition. It is organized by the many brotherhoods that each locality has across the country, with numerous acts and processions in which steps and images come out into the streets, often carried by porters. Its importance is such that Spain has more than twenty of them declared as Festivals of International Tourist Interest and another twenty as Festivals of National Tourist Interest. 

Italy 

Italians celebrate Holy Week in the same way as Spaniards. Processions parade through their villages and rites and cults that commemorate the Passion of Christ are practiced. Likewise, the most important days are Maundy Thursday, during the commemoration of the Last Supper; Good Friday, with various Stations of the Cross; Holy Saturday, with the announcement of the Resurrection of Jesus; and Easter Sunday 

Israel 

Holy Week in Jerusalem, the capital of Israel, begins on Palm Sunday, with a procession that goes from the Mount of Olives to the historic center. However, the next activity does not take place until Maundy Thursday, when the Eucharist is celebrated in the Holy Sepulcher and the pilgrimage to the Upper Room on Mount Zion, followed by meditation in the Garden of Gethsemane and a procession to the Church of San Pedro. There are more events on Friday and Saturday, until Easter Sunday the Gospel is read in several languages, and on Easter Monday there is a pilgrimage to Emmaus. 

Colombia  

All of Colombia turns to celebrate these dates, but if one celebration deserves special mention, it is Holy Week in Popayán, where processions have taken place since the 16th century, between-Friday of Sorrows and Holy Saturday . 

Here, marches made up of beautiful wooden sculptures are brought down the street, carried by cargo ships, so reminiscent of those that are part of the processions in Spain. The importance of this tradition is such that the Holy Week of Popayán was inscribed on the Representative List of the Cultural Heritage of Humanity by UNESCO in 2009. 

Peru  

In Peru, Holy Week is celebrated with great anticipation. The processions that are organized throughout the country stand out, as in Catacaos, one of the places where many faithful gather. It begins on Palm Sunday, with the arrival of the Triumphant Lord, accompanied by the Virgin Mary and Saint John the Baptist. 

Mexico  

Holy Week in Mexico begins on the Friday of Sorrows, before Palm Sunday, and many processions and representations of the Passion of Christ take place in many places, such as Oaxaca. One of the most popular days is Easter Sunday, when paper dolls representing Judas are burned, although for some time it has also been used to do the same with those who imitate other characters equally despised by population. 

Ecuador  

Throughout Ecuador there is a tradition of celebrating the end of Lent, but one of the most characteristic acts takes place during Holy Week in Quito, Holy Wednesday, whose origin is a Roman ritual. This is Caudas Dredging. 

Eight bishops go out in procession, in mourning, with caudas (large capes), each accompanied by two acolytes and a cape-bearer. The march is closed by the Archbishop, with a reliquary with the remains of the cross where Jesus died. Once in the temple, the monks lie down on the ground, while the archbishop takes a large black flag with a red cross, touches the altar with it and waves it three times in the air. Then, he touches the lying men so that they get up, symbolizing the resurrection. 

Nicaragua  

Holy Week is celebrated throughout Nicaragua. Among the traditions of these dates, the orchard stands out, which is held on Passion Saturday in the afternoon, when an image of Jesus is brought into the churches and is kept awake all night, while a kind of market is held in the orchard. With sale of religious articles, and traditional dishes and drinks are served accompanied by religious songs and representations of the passion, death and resurrection of Jesus. 

Guatemala  

Holy Week in Guatemala is also characterized by processions and colorful carpets. The fusion that has occurred between the Catholic religion and the Mayan culture gives it a mystical and unique air in the region. Such is its color and its spectacular processions that it has become a real attraction for tourists. 

United States 
Foreign communities, with their brotherhoods, celebrate Holy Week in the United States. There are two places where the survival of the tradition stands out: New York and California.
The New York brotherhoods venerate and guard the image of the Black Christ which is in the Cathedral of San Patricio and which attracts a large Hispanic population. In California, the representation of the Passion of Jesus Christ is even celebrated through a Stations of the Cross which has a large audience. 

Facebook Comments

Netalkole Media
Stay informed 7 days a week, 24 hours a day, of major Haitian and international news events.

EVENT

10 endroits dans le monde où Pâques est célébrée

source image : franceinfo

La Semaine Sainte, moment où est célébrée la fin des quarante jours de jeûne et de pénitence qui composent le Carême, est profondément enracinée dans de nombreux pays du monde, où se déroulent des représentations de la Passion de Jésus-Christ. 

Aujourd’hui, nous vous présentons dix lieux où la Semaine Sainte est célébrée avec la plus grande ferveur, de telle sorte que tous ces pays sont devenus une destination touristique incontournable pour les voyageurs qui aiment les actes religieux. 

LIRE AUSSI :

Manje pwason, moute kap pandan semèn sent, ki kote tradisyon sila yo soti ? 

Espagne  

La célébration de la Semaine Sainte en Espagne a une tradition profondément enracinée. Il est organisé par les nombreuses confréries que chaque localité compte à travers le pays, avec de nombreux actes et processions dans lesquels des pas et des images sortent dans les rues, souvent portés par des porteurs. Son importance est telle que l’Espagne compte plus d’une vingtaine d’entre elles déclarées Fête d’Intérêt Touristique International et une vingtaine d’autres comme Fête d’Intérêt Touristique National. 

Italie 

Les Italiens célèbrent la Semaine Sainte de la même manière que les Espagnols. Des processions défilent dans leurs villages et des rites et cultes qui commémorent la Passion du Christ sont pratiqués. De même, les jours les plus importants sont le jeudi saint, lors de la commémoration de la Cène ; Vendredi Saint, avec divers Chemins de Croix ; Samedi Saint, avec l’annonce de la Résurrection de Jésus ; et le dimanche de Pâques 

Israël 

La Semaine Sainte à Jérusalem, la capitale d’Israël, commence le dimanche des Rameaux, avec une procession qui va du mont des Oliviers au centre historique. Cependant, l’activité suivante n’a pas lieu avant le jeudi saint, lorsque l’Eucharistie est célébrée dans le Saint-Sépulcre et le pèlerinage au Cénacle sur le mont Sion, suivi d’une méditation dans le jardin de Gethsémané et d’une procession vers l’église de San Pedro. Il y a plus d’événements le vendredi et le samedi, jusqu’au dimanche de Pâques, l’Évangile est lu en plusieurs langues, et le lundi de Pâques, il y a un pèlerinage à Emmaüs. 

La Colombie  

Toute la Colombie se tourne pour célébrer ces dates, mais si une célébration mérite d’être particulièrement mentionnée, c’est la Semaine Sainte à Popayán, où des processions ont lieu depuis le XVIe siècle, entre-le Vendredi des Douleurs et le Samedi Saint. 

Ici, des marches composées de belles sculptures en bois sont amenées dans la rue, portées par des cargos, qui rappellent tant ceux qui font partie des processions en Espagne. L’importance de cette tradition est telle que la Semaine Sainte de Popayán a été inscrite sur la Liste représentative du patrimoine culturel de l’humanité par l’UNESCO en 2009. 

Advertisements

Pérou  

Au Pérou, la Semaine Sainte est célébrée avec beaucoup d’anticipation. Les processions qui s’organisent dans tout le pays se démarquent, comme à Catacaos, l’un des lieux où se rassemblent de nombreux fidèles. Elle commence le dimanche des Rameaux, avec l’arrivée du Seigneur Triomphant, accompagné de la Vierge Marie et de Saint Jean Baptiste. 

Mexique  

La Semaine Sainte au Mexique commence le vendredi des Douleurs, avant le dimanche des Rameaux, et de nombreuses processions et représentations de la Passion du Christ ont lieu dans de nombreux endroits, comme Oaxaca. L’un des jours les plus populaires est le dimanche de Pâques, lorsque des poupées en papier représentant Judas sont brûlées, bien que depuis quelque temps, il soit également utilisé pour faire de même avec ceux qui imitent d’autres personnages tout aussi méprisés par la population. 

Equateur  

Dans tout l’Équateur, il existe une tradition de célébration de la fin du Carême, mais l’un des actes les plus caractéristiques à lieu pendant la Semaine Sainte à Quito, le Mercredi Saint, dont l’origine est un rituel romain. C’est le Dragage de Caudas. 

Huit évêques sortent en procession, en deuil, avec des caudas (grandes capes), accompagnés chacun de deux acolytes et d’un porte-cape. La marche est clôturée par l’archevêque, avec un reliquaire avec les restes de la croix où Jésus est mort. Une fois dans le temple, les religieux se couchent sur le sol, tandis que l’archevêque prend un grand drapeau noir avec une croix rouge, en touche l’autel et l’agite trois fois en l’air. Ensuite, il en effleure les hommes couchés pour qu’ils se relèvent, symbolisant la résurrection. 

Nicaragua  

La Semaine Sainte est célébrée dans tout le Nicaragua. Parmi les traditions de ces dates, se distingue le verger, qui se tient le samedi de la Passion dans l’après-midi, lorsqu’une image de Jésus est introduite dans les églises et est maintenue éveillée toute la nuit, tandis qu’une sorte de marché se tient dans le verger. Avec vente d’articles religieux, et des plats et boissons traditionnels sont servis accompagnés de chants religieux et de représentations de la passion, de la mort et de la résurrection de Jésus. 

Guatemala  

La Semaine Sainte au Guatemala se caractérise également par des processions et des tapis colorés. La fusion qui s’est produite entre la religion catholique et la culture maya lui donne un air mystique et unique dans la région. Telle est sa couleur et ses processions spectaculaires qu’elle est devenue une véritable attraction pour les touristes. 

États-Unis 
Ce sont les communautés étrangères, avec leurs confréries, qui célèbrent la Semaine Sainte aux États-Unis. Il y a deux endroits où la survivance de la tradition se démarque : New York et la Californie.
Les confréries new-yorkaises vénèrent et gardent l’image du Christ noir qui se trouve dans la cathédrale de San Patricio et qui attire une importante population hispanique. En Californie, la représentation de la Passion de Jésus-Christ est même célébrée à travers un chemin de croix qui a un large public. 

Facebook Comments

Netalkole Media
Restez informé(e) 7 jours sur 7, 24h sur 24, des événements marquants de l’actualité haitienne et internationale.