NETALKOLE

176 Haitian migrants were intercepted by the US Coast Guard in Florida 

The US Coast Guard intercepted and rescued 176 Haitians aboard an overloaded and in poor condition sailboat on Monday off the coast of Florida. Ten of them were hospitalized with symptoms of dehydration, authorities said in a press release. 

Following a spotting of a Customs and Border Protection Air and Marine Operations flight crew 25 miles (approximately 40 kilometers) northeast of Anguilla Cay, Bahamas. The U.S. Coast Guard assisted in the rescue of 176 Haitians aboard an inadequate sailboat without any basic lifesaving equipment or navigation lights, authorities said in a statement.  

"It is extremely dangerous to navigate the Florida Straits on a vessel in poor condition, especially off the Florida Keys where the water is extremely dangerous with shoals and reefs," the Area Command Officer Key West James Kinney. 

With wind speeds of 32.187 km/h and seas of 4 to 6 feet, by the time the crew of the Paul Clack arrived and an unsuitable sailboat the Coast Guard provided personal flotation devices to prevent loss of life. However, ten of the Haitian passengers were hospitalized at a local hospital with symptoms of dehydration, officials said.  

Advertisements

Once intercepted and no lives were lost in the operation, a crew from the Coast Guard stop Islamorada and federal law enforcement officers coordinated with their law enforcement partners state and local law to imprison countrymen.  

However, the authorities have reported for the past five years that they have rescued a total of 557 Haitian migrants since the beginning of October 2021 against 1,527 compared to last year. 418 in 2020, 932 in 2019. coast guard rescued 609 Haitian migrants for the year 2018 and 2017 they rescued at least 419 Haitians.  

EDITOR: Roodson WARRIOR

COPYRIGHT: NETALKOLE MEDIA 2022 

Facebook Comments

Netalkole Media
Stay informed 7 days a week, 24 hours a day, of major Haitian and international news events.

NETALKOLE

176 migrants haïtiens ont été intercepté par les garde-côtes américains en Floride 

Listen to this article

Les garde-côtes américains ont intercepté et secouru 176 haïtiens à bord d’un voilier surchargé et en mauvais état, ce lundi au large de la Floride. Dix parmi eux ont été hospitalisé en raison de symptômes de déshydratation, ont rapporté les autorités dans un communiqué de presse 

À la suite d’un repérage d’un équipage de conduite des opérations aériennes et maritimes des douanes et de la protection des frontières à 25 miles (environ 40 kilomètres) au nord-est d’Anguilla Cay (Bahamas). Les garde-côtes américains ont aidé au sauvetage de 176 haïtiens à bord d’un voilier inadéquat sans aucun équipement de sauvetage de base ni feux de navigation, a fait savoir les autorités dans un communiqué.  

“Il est extrêmement dangereux de naviguer dans le détroit de Floride à bord d’un navire en mauvais état, en particulier au large des Florida Keys où l’eau est extrêmement dangereuse avec des hauts-fonds et des récifs”, a informé  l’officier de commandement du secteur Key West James Kinney. 

Avec une vitesse des vents 32,187 km/h et une mer de 4 à 6 pieds, au moment où l’équipage du Paul Clack est arrivé et un voilier inapproprié les gardes-côtes ont fourni des dispositifs de flottaison individuels afin éviter des pertes de vie humaine.Cependant dix des passagers haïtiens ont été hospitalisé dans un hôpital local pour cause de symptômes de déshydratation, ont déclaré les responsables.  

Advertisements

Une fois, interceptés et aucune vie n’a pas été perdue lors de l’opération, un équipage de l’arrêt garde-côtes Islamorada et des agents fédéraux chargés de l’application des lois se sont coordonnés avec leurs partenaires d’application de la loi d’État et locaux pour retenir en prison les compatriotes.  

Néanmoins les autorités ont rapporté pour les cinq dernières années, qu’ils ont secouru au total 557 migrants haïtiens, depuis le début du mois d’octobre 2021 contre 1527 en comparaison à l’année dernière.418 en 2020, 932 en 2019.Les garde-côtes ont secouru 609 migrants haïtiens pour l’année 2018 et 2017 ils ont secouru pour le moins 419 haïtiens.  

REDACTION : Roodson GUERRIER

COPYRIGHT : NETALKOLE MEDIA 2022 

Click to download NetAlkole News App Free

Facebook Comments

Netalkole Media
Restez informé(e) 7 jours sur 7, 24h sur 24, des événements marquants de l’actualité haitienne et internationale.