INTERNATIONAL

112-year-old Venezuelan farmer becomes world's oldest man 

Widowed for 25 years after 60 years of marriage, Juan Vicente Pérez had 11 children, 41 grandchildren, 18 great-grandchildren and 12 great-great-grandchildren. [JHONNY PARRA / AFP]

In a statement released this Tuesday, May 17, 2022, Guinness World Records announced that Venezuelan farmer Juan Vincente Pérez has become the oldest man in the world at 112 years old, after verifications were made last February . 

Born on May 27, 1909, in the city of El Cobre, Juan Vincente Pérez, less than ten days from his 113 years, officially became the oldest man in the world after the death of the previous record holder, the Spaniard Saturnino de la Fuente Garcia, also 112 years old. 

“He has exceptional health and memory. He remembers his childhood, his marriage, the names of his brothers, children and grandchildren, ”said this world record organization, Guinness. "He likes to be around his family and friends to converse and tell stories," he added. 

Advertisements

Mr. Pérez is the father of 11 children, 41 grandchildren, 18 great-grandchildren, and 12 great-great-grandchildren. He, who is now the oldest man in the world, has been a widower for 25 years after 60 years of marriage, reports Le Figaro. 

However, the oldest person in the world to date remains the French sister André, dean of humanity, aged 118, born on February 11, 1904. 

Facebook Comments

Jacky Chery
Student in Social Communication and Legal Sciences at UEH, also Journalist-editor at Netalkole Media. A passion for writing and reading.

INTERNATIONAL

Agé de 112 ans, un agriculteur vénézuélien devient l’homme le plus vieux au monde 

Veuf depuis 25 ans après 60 ans de mariage, Juan Vicente Pérez a eu 11 enfants, 41 petits-enfants, 18 arrière-petits-enfants et 12 arrière-arrière-petits-enfants. [JHONNY PARRA / AFP]

Dans un communiqué rendu publique ce mardi 17 mai 2022, le Guinness des records mondiaux a annoncé que l’agriculteur vénézuélien Juan Vincente Pérez est devenu l’homme le plus âgé au monde avec 112 ans, après que des vérifications ont été faites en février dernier. 

Né le 27 mai 1909, dans la ville El Cobre, Juan Vincente Pérez, à moins de dix jours de ses 113 ans, est officiellement devenu l’homme le plus vieux au monde après la mort du précédent recordman, l’espagnol Saturnino de la Fuente Garcia, également âgé de 112 ans. 

« Il a une santé et une mémoire exceptionnelles. Il se souvient de son enfance, de son mariage, des noms de ses frères, enfants et petits-enfants », a indiqué cette organisation de records mondiaux, Guinness. « Il aime être entouré de sa famille et de ses amis pour converser et raconter des histoires », a-t-il ajouté. 

Advertisements

Monsieur Pérez est père de 11 enfants, 41 ans petits-enfants, 18 arrière-petits-enfants, et 12 arrière-arrière-petits-enfants. Lui qui est aujourd’hui l’homme le plus vieux au monde, est veuf depuis 25 ans après 60 ans de mariage, rapporte Le Figaro. 

Toutefois, la personne la plus âgée au monde jusqu’à date reste la française sœur André, doyenne de l’humanité, âgée de 118 ans, né le 11 février 1904. 

Facebook Comments

Jacky Chery
Étudiant en Communication Sociale et en Sciences Juridiques à l'UEH, également Journaliste-redacteur à Netalkole Media. Un passionné de l'écriture et de la lecture.