MOVIE THEATER

"Red Alert", the new cartoon that talks openly about menstruation

Although often explored in animated films, the passage from childhood to adolescence is not always exploited in its entirety. Crises and disturbances emanating from this transition are always mentioned, but menstruation never is. Pixar Studios is changing the game.

Totally directed by a woman and available on the Disney+ platform since March 11, Red Alert is the new cartoon from Pixar studios. It tells the story of Meilin Lee, a self-assured 13-year-old girl torn between honoring her parents, remaining the role model girl her mother is so proud of, remaining true to herself, and the chaos of life. 'adolescence. Whenever she is overwhelmed by her emotions, she transforms into a giant red panda. She then withdraws into herself and her mother, worried, wonders if her daughter is not preparing for her first period.

“I wanted to evoke this complicated moment of puberty and add a little magic to it. I chose red pandas, first because I love them and they are never represented. And then, they have a lot of hair, they are red and, for me, it is the color of adolescent trouble: the one you take when you are embarrassed or angry. It is also that of menstruation, of love, of desire. We've all been there, from the age of 13, there are those moments when we look at ourselves in the mirror and we discover that we have gained ten centimeters, we are always hungry, we have hair, emotions which go in all directions: it says something to everyone, “explained Domee Shi, the Chinese-Canadian director.

In addition to discussing menstruation, the cartoon directed by Domee Shi, a Chinese-born storyboard artist and director at Pixar since 2011, also shows and talks about period protection for the first time, which has been widely praised.

“How I cried when I saw sanitary napkins in Red Alert! Women are too often reduced to minimal versions of themselves, either sexualized or simply made invisible. So to see the detail of all the periodic protections on the screen, listed with such normality, is moving”, testifies a young woman who viewed and appreciated the cartoon.

We can say that the world is taking a step forward. Because menstruation and period protection are trivialized subjects and considered taboo. It's only recently that manufacturers of sanitary napkins are using red liquid instead of the traditional blue in pubs.

Red Alert is a coming-of-age story about a girl learning to grow and deal with changes in her body and changing relationships with her mother and friends. This cartoon also shows teenagers that this time in life is going to be complicated, scary, funny, awkward and embarrassing but it's going to be okay and it's normal.

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journalist / Communicator / Bookstagramer.

CINEMA

« Alerte rouge », le nouveau dessin animé qui parle ouvertement des menstruations

Bien que souvent exploré dans les films d’animation, le passage de l’enfance à l’adolescence n’est pas toujours exploité dans sa totalité. Les crises et troubles émanant de cette transition sont toujours évoqués, mais les menstruations ne le sont jamais. Les studios Pixar changent la donne.

Totalement réalisé par une femme et disponible sur la plateforme Disney+ depuis le 11 mars, Alerte Rouge est le nouveau dessin animé des studios Pixar. Il raconte l’histoire de Meilin Lee, une adolescente de 13 ans, pleine d’assurance, mais tiraillée entre honorer ses parents, rester la petite fille modèle dont sa mère est si fière, rester fidèle à elle-même et le chaos de l’adolescence. À chaque fois qu’elle est dépassée par ses émotions, elle se transforme en un panda roux géant. Elle se referme alors sur elle-même et sa mère, inquiète, se demande si sa fille ne se prépare pas à avoir ses premières règles.

« J’ai voulu évoquer ce moment compliqué de la puberté et y ajouter un peu de magie. J’ai choisi les pandas roux, d’abord parce que je les adore et qu’ils ne sont jamais représentés. Et puis, ils ont beaucoup de poils, ils sont rouges et, pour moi, c’est la couleur du trouble adolescent : celle qu’on prend quand on est embarrassé ou en colère. C’est aussi celle des menstruations, de l’amour, du désir. On est tous passé par là, à partir de 13 ans, il y a ces moments où on se regarde dans la glace et on découvre qu’on a pris dix centimètres, on a faim tout le temps, on a des poils, des émotions qui partent dans tous les sens : ça dit quelque chose à tout le monde », a expliqué Domee Shi, la réalisatrice sino-canadienne.

En plus d’évoquer les règles, Le dessin-animé réalisé par Domee Shi, artiste de storyboard et réalisatrice d’origine chinoise chez Pixar depuis 2011, montre et parle également pour la première fois des protections périodiques, ce qui a été largement salué.

Advertisements

« Comme j’ai pleuré en voyant des serviettes hygiéniques dans Alerte rouge ! Les femmes sont trop souvent réduites à des versions minimes d’elles-mêmes, soit sexualisées soit tout simplement invisibilisées. Alors voir le détail de toutes les protections périodiques à l’écran, énumérées avec tant de normalité est émouvant », témoigne une jeune femme qui a visualisé et apprécié le dessin animé.

On peut dire que le monde est en train de faire un pas en avant. Car les règles et les protections périodiques sont des sujets banalisés et considérés tabous. Il n’est que récemment que les fabricants de serviettes hygiéniques utilisent du liquide rouge en lieu et place du bleu traditionnel dans les pubs.

Alerte Rouge est une histoire de passage à l’âge adulte, où on voit une fille qui apprend à grandir et à gérer les changements de son corps et l’évolution de ses relations avec sa mère et ses amis. Ce dessin animé montre également aux adolescents que ce moment de la vie va être compliqué, effrayant, drôle, gênant et embarrassant mais que ça va bien se passer et que c’est normal.

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journaliste / Communicatrice / Bookstagrameuse.