CARIBBEAN NEWS

At least twenty-two (22) dead and several dozen injured recorded in the explosion of a hotel in Cuba 

image source: france-antilles-martinique

A strong explosion took place this Friday, May 6 at the Saratoga hotel in Havana, Cuba, where at least twenty-two people were killed and around eighty others were injured. This accident would have been produced due to a gas leak, according to the presidency. 

The iconic Saratoga hotel, located in the center of the Cuban capital, was hit by a violent explosion on the afternoon of Friday, May 6, 2022. This old 96-room establishment, which had been closed to tourists for several weeks, was in full restoration and was preparing to reopen its doors very soon. The victims of this tragedy were mainly the workers who were making the final preparations for the reopening. 

"The workers were doing repairs and doing all the work to open the property and in the morning they were replenishing the gas and it seems that an accident caused an explosion," said Roberto Enrique Calzadilla, a representative of the military society on state television. 

The Cuban President, Miguel Diaz-Canel, who went to the scene shortly after, in a short statement, wanted to reassure the population who had panicked about a possibility of a terrorist attack following this drama. "It was neither a bomb nor an attack, it was a regrettable accident", declared the Cuban head of state, thus wanting to put an end to the rumors on social networks which evoked the possibility of an attack on the bomb. 

Advertisements

The building that currently houses Saratoga was built in 1880 to house shops, before it was transformed into a hotel in 1933. Since 2005, after renovation, Saratoga de Havana has become a luxury hotel in Cuba and home, each year, a large number of world famous tourists. 

WRITER: Jacky Chery 

COPYRIGHT: NETALKOLE MEDIA 2022 

Facebook Comments

Jacky Chery
Student in Social Communication and Legal Sciences at UEH, also Journalist-editor at Netalkole Media. A passion for writing and reading.

CARIBBEAN NEWS

Au moins vingt-deux (22) morts et plusieurs dizaines de blessés enregistrés dans l’explosion d’un hôtel à Cuba 

source image : france-antilles-martinique

Une forte explosion a eu lieu ce vendredi 6 mai à l’hôtel Saratoga de la Havane à Cuba où au moins vingt-deux personnes ont été tuées et environ quatre-vingt d’autres ont été blessés. Cet accident aurait été produit en raison d’une fuite de gaz, selon la présidence. 

L’emblématique hôtel de Saratoga, situé au centre de la capitale cubaine, a été frappé par une violente explosion dans l’après-midi du vendredi 6 mai 2022. Ce vieil établissement de 96 chambres, qui était fermé aux touristes depuis plusieurs semaines, était en pleine restauration et se préparait à rouvrir ses portes très prochainement. Les victimes de ce drame ont été principalement les ouvriers qui effectuaient les derniers préparatifs à la réouverture. 

“Les ouvriers étaient en train de faire des réparations et de faire tout le travail pour ouvrir la propriété et le matin, ils réapprovisionnaient le gaz et il semble qu’un accident ait provoqué une explosion”, a déclaré Roberto Enrique Calzadilla, un représentant de la société militaire à la télévision d’État. 

Le président cubain, Miguel Diaz-Canel, qui s’était rendu sur les lieux peu de temps après, dans une courte déclaration, tenait à rassurer la population qui s’était prise de panique quant à une possibilité d’attaque terroriste suite à ce drame. “Ce n’était ni une bombe, ni un attentat, c’est un regrettable accident”, a déclaré le chef d’État cubain, voulant ainsi mettre fin aux rumeurs sur les réseaux sociaux qui évoquaient la possibilité d’un attentat à la bombe. 

Advertisements

Le bâtiment qui héberge actuellement Saratoga a été construit en 1880 pour héberger des magasins, avant qu’il ait été transformé en hôtel en 1933. Depuis 2005, après rénovation, Saratoga de la Havane est devenu un hôtel de luxe à Cuba et accueil, chaque année, un grand nombre de touriste de grand renommé mondial. 

REDACTION : Jacky Chéry 

COPYRIGHT : NETALKOLE MEDIA 2022 

Facebook Comments

Jacky Chery
Étudiant en Communication Sociale et en Sciences Juridiques à l'UEH, également Journaliste-redacteur à Netalkole Media. Un passionné de l'écriture et de la lecture.