INTERNATIONAL

Discovery of a large smuggling tunnel linking Mexico and the United States 

discovery of a large smuggling tunnel linking mexico and the united states

A secret passage was discovered linking Tijuana to the Mexico border and the city of San Diego in the United States, informed the American authorities specifying that it was used as a corridor for drug smuggling. 

Located near the Otay Messa border crossing in San Diego, the interior of the tunnel featured rail and ventilation systems, electrical, and reinforced walls. A dozen other sophisticated tunnels have been discovered in the same area over the past two decades. 

US authorities seized inside the crossing 762 pounds (799 kg) of cocaine, 165 pounds (75 kg) of methamphetamine and 3.5 pounds (1.6 kg) of heroin.  

Advertisements

Following this discovery, 6 people aged 31 to 55 were arrested and charged with conspiracy to distribute cocaine. All reside in Southern California. 

The smuggling tunnel is in one of the most heavily fortified stretches of the Mexico-US border. Authorities said it was unknown how long the space had been operating and how much of the drug, if any, had passed through undetected. 

Facebook Comments

Pooshy Rosana
Pooshy Rosana, journalist-editor at Netalkolemedia, cartoonist and graphic designer. At the same time, fitness coach. Loves popular culture, documentaries and bodybuilding.

INTERNATIONAL

Découverte d’un grand tunnel de contrebande reliant le Mexique et les États-Unis 

découverte d'un grand tunnel de contrebande reliant le mexique et les États unis

Un passage secret a été découvert reliant Tijuana à la frontière du Mexique et la ville de San Diego aux États-Unis, ont informé les autorités américaines précisant qu’il servait de couloir de contrebande de drogue. 

Situé près du poste frontalier d’Otay Messa, à San Diego, l’intérieur du tunnel comportait des systèmes de rail et de ventilation, de l’électricité et des murs renforcés. Une dizaine d’autres tunnels sophistiqués ont été découverts dans la même zone au cours des deux dernières décennies. 

Les autorités américaines ont saisi à l’intérieur du passage 762 livres (799 kg) de cocaïne, 165 livres (75 kg) de méthamphétamine et 3,5 livres (1,6 kg) d’héroïne.  

Advertisements

Suite à cette trouvaille, 6 personnes âgées de 31 à 55 ans, ont été arrêtées puis accusées de complot en vue de distribuer de la cocaïne. Toutes résident au sud de la Californie. 

Le tunnel de contrebande se trouve dans l’un des tronçons les plus fortifiés de la frontière mexicano-américaine. Les autorités ont déclaré qu’on ignorait depuis combien de temps l’espace fonctionnait et quelle quantité de drogue, le cas échéant, avait traversé sans être détecté. 

Facebook Comments

Pooshy Rosana
Pooshy Rosana, journaliste-rédacteur à Netalkolemedia, caricaturiste et graphiste. Parallèlement, coach fitness. Adore la culture populaire, les documentaires et la musculation.