SPORTS

Women referees selected for the 2022 World Cup 

women referees selected for the 2022 world cup

The Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) published, on May 19, the list of referees who will officiate during the World Cup, Qatar 2022. For the first time, women will be among the game directors of the world event. 

For the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022, the world's governing body of football, FIFA has appointed 36 main referees, 69 assistant referees and 24 video referees. For the first time in the competition, which is celebrating its 92nd anniversary this year, 6 women are among the selected referees. 

The FIFA Referees Committee has set its sights on 3 main referees and 3 assistants. As a result, the French Stéphanie Frappart, the Rwandan Salima Mukansanga and the Japanese Yoshimi Yamashita, as well as the Brazilian Neuza Back, the Mexican Karen Díaz Medina and the American Kathryn Nesbitt integrate the contingent of official referees of the 22nd edition of the World Cup.  

“Their appointment is the result of a long process that began several years ago, which began with the appointment of female referees for some FIFA senior and youth men's competitions. We thus wish to demonstrate that the quality of refereeing has nothing to do with gender. thundered Pierluigi Collina, President of the Referees Commission. 

“I hope that in the future, the presence of female referees at top men's competitions will be seen as the rule rather than the exception. The selected referees deserve to be included in the list for the FIFA World Cup™ because they have been performing for several years at the highest level. That's what matters to us,” concluded the refereeing legend. 

Facebook Comments

SPORTS

Des femmes arbitres sélectionnées pour la Coupe du Monde 2022 

des femmes arbitres sélectionnées pour la coupe du monde 2022

La Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) a publié, ce 19 Mai, la liste des arbitres qui officieront durant la Coupe du Monde, Qatar 2022. Pour la première fois, des femmes feront partie des directeurs de jeu de l’épreuve mondiale. 

Pour la Coupe du Monde de football, Qatar 2022, l’instance mère du football à l’échelle mondiale, la FIFA a désigné 36 arbitres principaux, 69 arbitres assistants et 24 arbitres vidéo. Pour la première fois dans la compétition qui célèbre ses 92 ans cette année, 6 femmes font partie des arbitres sélectionnés. 

La Commission des Arbitres de la FIFA a jeté son dévolu sur 3 arbitres principales et 3 assistantes. De ce fait, la Française Stéphanie Frappart, la Rwandaise Salima Mukansanga et la Japonaise Yoshimi Yamashita, ainsi que la Brésilienne Neuza Back, la Mexicaine Karen Díaz Medina et l’Américaine Kathryn Nesbitt intègrent le contingent des arbitres officiels de la 22e édition du Mondial.  

Advertisements

« Leur désignation est le résultat d’un long processus entamé il y a plusieurs années, qui a commencé par la nomination d’arbitres femmes pour certaines compétitions masculines seniors et de jeunes de la FIFA. Nous souhaitons ainsi démontrer que la qualité de l’arbitrage n’a rien à voir avec le genre. » a tonné Pierluigi Collina, le Président de la Commission des Arbitres. 

« J’espère qu’à l’avenir, la présence d’arbitres femmes lors de compétitions masculines de haut niveau sera considérée comme la règle plutôt que l’exception. Les arbitres retenues méritent de figurer dans la liste pour la Coupe du Monde de la FIFA™ car elles enchaînent depuis plusieurs années les prestations de haut vol. C’est cela qui compte pour nous » a conclu la légende de l’arbitrage. 

Facebook Comments