MOVIE THEATER

Haiti is a nation of artists: a documentary that will represent Haiti at the Cannes Film Festival  

haiti is a nation of artists a documentary that will represent haiti at the cannes festival

Last year thanks to the film Freda by Gessica Généus, Haitian cinema was at the rendezvous at the Cannes Film Festival, and this year again it will be there, with the documentary by Jacquil Constant, “Haiti is a nation of artists”. 

This documentary based on the aftermath of the 2010 earthquake shows Haitian artists creating transformational art in an attempt to resuscitate the country after the tragedy of January 12, 2010. It will be broadcast on Saturday, May 21, in the presence of its director, as part of the third edition of the Pavillon festival, a space dedicated to African cinema, which will be held in parallel with the Cannes Film Festival.  

“Africa Pavilion is the place where Africa welcomes the world. Far from closing in on itself, it allows itself to be discovered, with its strengths and its flaws: an industry still to be formalized” explains a press release from the festival. 

For the third edition of the Pavillon festival, screenings, discussions, workshops, among others, will be offered for ten days. The objective is, according to the press release, to promote the talents of Africa and its diaspora through knowledge, to contribute to creating a viable and profitable film industry on the continent and to encourage regional and international cooperation in the film market. 

The press release also underlines that delegations from Canada, the United Kingdom and the United States in search of business synergies with Africa and its diaspora, will come to contribute to the development of the African film industry. 

Jacquil Constant is a Haitian-American independent filmmaker, with 12 years of career in the field of production, post-production and casting of reality TV shows. His production company, Constant Production, has a variety of music videos, short films and commercial productions to his credit. 

Founder of the first-ever Haiti International Film Festival in Southern California, Jacquil Constant is an assistant professor at Pasadena City College where he teaches film production.

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journalist / Communicator / Bookstagramer.

CINEMA

Haïti is a nation of artists : un documentaire qui représentera Haïti au festival de Cannes  

haïti is a nation of artists un documentaire qui représentera haïti au festival de cannes

L’année dernière grâce au film Freda de Gessica Généus, le cinéma Haïtien était au rendez-vous au festival de Cannes, et cette année encore il y sera, avec le documentaire de Jacquil Constant, “Haïti is a nation of artists”. 

Ce documentaire basé sur l’après tremblement de terre de 2010, montre des artistes haïtiens créant un art transformationnel pour tenter de relever le pays, après le drame du 12 janvier 2010. Il sera diffusé le samedi 21 mai, en présence de son réalisateur, dans le cadre de la troisième édition du festival Pavillon, un espace consacré au cinéma africain, qui se tiendra en parallèle avec le Festival de Cannes.  

“Pavillon Afrique est le lieu où l’Afrique accueille le monde. Loin de se refermer sur elle-même, elle se laisse découvrir, avec ses forces et ses failles : une industrie encore à formaliser” explique un communiqué de presse du festival. 

Pour la troisième édition du festival Pavillon, projections, discussions, ateliers, entre autres, seront proposés pendant une dizaine de jours. L’objectif est, selon le communiqué, de promouvoir les talents d’Afrique et de sa diaspora par la connaissance, contribuer à créer une industrie du cinéma viable et rentable sur le continent et encourager les coopérations régionales et internationales dans le marché du film. 

Advertisements

Le communiqué souligne également que des délégations du Canada, du Royaume-Uni et des Etats-Unis à la recherche de synergies d’affaires avec l’Afrique et sa diaspora, viendront apporter leur contribution au développement de l’industrie cinématographique Africain. 

Jacquil Constant est un cinéaste indépendant haïtiano-américain, avec 12 ans de carrière dans le domaine de la production, la post-production et le casting d’émissions de télé-réalité. Sa société de production, Constant Production, compte à son actif divers vidéoclips, courts métrages et productions commerciales. 

Fondateur du tout premier Festival international du film d’Haïti en Californie du Sud, Jacquil Constant est professeur adjoint au Pasadena City College où il enseigne la production cinématographique.

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journaliste / Communicatrice / Bookstagrameuse.