I-TECH

Bitcoin becomes the legal currency of the Central African Republic 

By a text of law, the parliamentarians of the Central African Republic have just adopted bitcoin as the legal currency of the country, in the same way as the CFA franc, which is a great first for a country on the African continent. The Central African Republic then becomes the second country in the world, after El Salvador, to legislate in this direction. 

El Salvador was in September 2021 the first country in the world to adopt bitcoin as legal tender. The International Monetary Fund (IMF) then immediately denounced a dangerous decision for financial stability, financial integrity and consumer protection. 

According to a press release from Obed Namsio, Minister of State and Director of the Central African Presidential Cabinet, the text of the law was passed unanimously by the deputies. The President welcomed that her country is the first to unanimously pass a bill that governs cryptocurrency and joins the rest of the government in putting the Central African Republic on the map of the most courageous and visionary countries in the world. 

According to the Central African Minister Fourna Zacko, future transactions in Bitcoin will not be subject to tax and will have to facilitate transfers in euros, dollars or CFA francs. Bitcoin will also be a favorable asset for e-commerce activities as well as tax contributions. 

Although it was passed unanimously by the deputies, this new law does not please the members of the opposition who see in it a way out of the CFA franc and want to challenge the text before the constitutional court.  

According to former Prime Minister Martin Ziguélé, now an opposition deputy, this decision is not a priority for the country, and this approach leads to questioning who can benefit from what he considers a crime. 

On the other hand, several Western banks fear that Bitcoin is actually used to circumvent the sanctions taken against Russia, especially in the field of energy, because the Central African Republic and Russia have a very close link. , especially since since 2018, Russian paramilitary groups and in particular the most famous, Wagner have been present on Central African soil. 

Nevertheless, many challenges are to be met by the government of this country ranked second least developed in the world by the UN, if it really relies on Bitcoin, such as the technological challenge represented by the adoption of crypto currencies, the Internet adoption is essential for the use of the latter, while in the Central African Republic, only 7.1% of the 5 million inhabitants use the Internet, according to a DataReportal report. 

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journalist / Communicator / Bookstagramer.

I-TECH

Le bitcoin devient la monnaie légale du Centrafrique 

Par un texte de loi, les parlementaires du Centrafrique viennent d’adopter le bitcoin comme monnaie légale du pays, au même titre que le franc CFA, ce qui est une grande première pour un pays du continent africain. La Centrafrique devient alors le deuxième pays au monde, après le Salvador, à légiférer en ce sens. 

Le Salvador a été en septembre 2021 le premier pays au monde à adopter le bitcoin comme monnaie légale. Le Fonds monétaire international (FMI) avait alors immédiatement dénoncé une décision dangereuse pour la stabilité́ financière, l’intégrité́ financière et la protection des consommateurs. 

D’après un communiqué de Obed Namsio, ministre d’État et directeur du cabinet présidentiel Centrafricain, le texte de loi a été voté à l’unanimité par les députés. La présidente s’est félicitée que son pays soit le premier à adopter unanimement un projet de loi qui gouverne la crypto-monnaie et rejoint le reste du gouvernement qui place la République centrafricaine sur la carte des plus courageux et visionnaires pays au monde. 

Selon le ministre Centrafricain Fourna Zacko, les futures transactions en Bitcoin ne seront pas soumises à l’impôt et devront faciliter les transferts en euros, dollars ou francs CFA. Le bitcoin sera également un atout favorable pour les activités de commerce en ligne ainsi que les contributions fiscales. 

Advertisements

Bien qu’elle soit votée à l’unanimité par les députés, cette nouvelle loi ne plait pas aux membres de l’opposition qui voient en elle, une manière de sortir du franc CFA et veulent contester le texte devant la cour constitutionnelle.  

Selon l’ancien Premier ministre Martin Ziguélé, aujourd’hui député de l’opposition, cette décision n’est pas une priorité pour le pays, et cette démarche pousse à interroger à qui peut bien profiter ce qu’il considère comme un crime. 

D’un autre côté, plusieurs banques occidentales craignent que le Bitcoin ne serve en réalité à contourner les sanctions prises à l’encontre de la Russie, notamment dans le domaine de l’énergie, car la Centrafrique et la Russie ont un lien très étroit, surtout que depuis 2018, des groupes paramilitaires russes et notamment du plus célèbre, Wagner est présent sur le sol centrafricain. 

Néanmoins, de nombreux défi sont à relever par le gouvernement de ce pays classé deuxième le moins développé au monde par L’ONU, si réellement il compte sur le Bitcoin, comme par exemple le défi technologique que représente l’adoption des crypto monnaies, l’adoption d’internet essentiel pour l’utilisation de ces dernières, alors qu’en république centrafricaine, seulement 7,1% des 5 millions d’habitants, utilisent internet, selon un rapport de DataReportal. 

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journaliste / Communicatrice / Bookstagrameuse.