MOVIE THEATER

The friendly ghost Casper soon to be back on our screens, in series  

More than one admired the film Casper, this very nice ghost who took no pleasure in scaring people, unlike his uncles, two other ghosts who haunted a mansion. Casper is still sad because he can't make friends: everyone he reveals himself to gets scared and runs away, until he meets Katherine, the daughter of the mansion's heiress.  

Even though this film has had several adaptations over the years, in partnership with Dreamworks animation, the streaming platform Peacock will bring Casper back to life with a live-action series, 25 years after the film's release. 

The producers describe the upcoming series as a horror-adventure show, which reimagines Casper's origin in a teenage story. It will be a “coming of age story” that will explore what it means to be alive. A new family will arrive in the small town of Eternal Falls, and Casper will find himself entangled in a mystery revealing dark secrets buried for over 100 years. 

Although the name of the future series has not yet been revealed, the first information revealed by Variety magazine suggests that it will mix adventure and horror, while telling how Casper became a ghost. Quite the opposite of previous good-natured adaptations around the character. The episodes will also be darker.  

Created in 1940, the ghostly character Casper was born in an animated series. It was not until 1995 that director Brad Silberling offered us the character Casper in film. The latter made a real hit. Several generations have laughed and howled at this film through the various adaptations. Casper quickly established itself in the Pantheon of cult films and became a reference work of Pop culture.

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journalist / Communicator / Bookstagramer.

CINEMA

Le gentil fantôme Casper bientôt de retour sur nos écrans, en série  

Plus d’un admirait le film Casper, ce fantôme très gentil qui ne prenait aucun plaisir à effrayer les gens, contrairement à ses oncles, deux autres fantômes qui hantaient un manoir. Casper est toujours triste car il n’arrive pas à se faire des amis : tout ceux à qui il se révèle, prennent peur et s’enfuient, jusqu’à ce qu’il rencontre Katherine, la fille de l’héritière du manoir.  

Même si ce film a eu plusieurs adaptations au cours des années, en partenariat avec Dreamworks animation, la plateforme de streaming Peacock va redonner vie à Casper avec une série live-action, 25 ans après la sortie du film. 

Les producteurs décrivent la future série comme un show d’horreur et d’aventure, qui réinvente l’origine de Casper dans une histoire d’adolescence. Ce sera une “coming of age story” qui explorera ce que signifie être en vie. Une nouvelle famille arrivera dans la petite ville d’Eternal Falls, et Casper se retrouvera empêtré dans un mystère révélant de sombres secrets enfouis depuis plus de 100 ans. 

Advertisements

Bien que le nom de la future série n’a pas encore été dévoilé, les premières informations révélées par le magazine Variety, font croire qu’elle mêlera aventure et horreur, tout en racontant comment Casper est devenu un fantôme. Bien le contraire des précédentes adaptations bon enfant autour du personnage. Les épisodes seront également plus sombres.  

Créé en 1940, le personnage fantomatique Casper voit le jour dans une série animée. Il n’est qu’en 1995, que le réalisateur Brad Silberling nous offre le personnage Casper en film. Ce dernier a fait un véritable carton. Plusieurs générations ont ri et hurlé devant ce film à travers les différentes adaptations. Casper s’est rapidement imposé au Panthéon des films culte et est devenu une œuvre de référence de la Pop culture.

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journaliste / Communicatrice / Bookstagrameuse.