MOVIE THEATER

Netflix account password sharing may become paid soon

Sharing Netflix account passwords with a loved one outside the primary subscriber's household is commonplace. This situation would prevent the American streaming platform from making a good profit, because the number of users greatly exceeds the number of subscribers. To overcome this problem, the platform intends to charge for sharing passwords. 

On Wednesday, March 16, Netflix announced changes to its Terms of Service and testing the ability to charge subscribers for sharing passwords. These tests will be carried out for the moment in three countries: Chile, Costa Rica and Peru. Subscribers will incur a fee on top of their monthly subscription (approximately $3 in Chile, $2.99 in Costa Rica, and approximately $2.12 in Peru) to add up to two additional accounts to their profile.  

According to Chengyi Long, director of product innovation at Netflix, password sharing, while popular, has created confusion about when and how Netflix can be used. She points out that the fact that accounts are shared in this way affects their ability to invest in quality series and films for members. 

A service to transfer a profile to a new account will also be offered in the test countries, in order to encourage the beneficiaries of password sharing to have their own subscription. 

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journalist / Communicator / Bookstagramer.

CINEMA

Le partage de mot de passe des comptes Netflix peut devenir payant prochainement

Le partage de mots de passe d’un compte Netflix avec un proche hors du foyer de l’abonné principal est monnaie courante. Cette situation empêcherait la plateforme de streaming américaine de faire une bonne recette, car le nombre d’utilisateurs dépasse grandement le nombre d’abonnés. Pour pallier ce problème, la plateforme entend faire payer le partage des mots de passe. 

Le mercredi 16 mars, Netflix a annoncé que des changements vont être effectués dans ses conditions d’utilisation et qu’elle allait tester la possibilité de faire payer à ses abonnés le partage des mots de passe. Ces tests seront réalisés pour le moment dans trois pays : Le Chili, le Costa Rica et au Pérou. Les abonnés devront s’acquitter d’un frais en plus de leur abonnement mensuel (environ 3 dollars au Chili, 2,99 dollars au Costa Rica et environ 2,12 dollars au Pérou) pour pouvoir ajouter jusqu’à deux comptes supplémentaires à leur profil.  

Advertisements

Selon Chengyi Long, directrice de l’innovation produits chez Netflix, le partage de mots de passe bien que populaires, a créé une confusion pour savoir quand et comment Netflix pouvait être utilisé. Elle souligne que le fait que les comptes sont ainsi partagés affecte leur capacité à investir dans des séries et des films de qualité pour les membres. 

Un service permettant de transférer un profil vers un nouveau compte sera également proposé dans les pays tests, afin d’encourager les bénéficiaires du partage du mot de passe à avoir leur propre abonnement. 

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journaliste / Communicatrice / Bookstagrameuse.