EVENT

On the way to the 4th edition of “Jedi penti” 

Once again, painting lovers have a date with this great art. The fourth edition of "Jedi penti" will be held on March 30 and 31, 2022, from 2 a.m. to 5 p.m., at the Champ-de-Mars. After 3 first successful editions, Wysmy Faustin, initiator of this activity which makes it possible to establish a firm interconnection between the painters, wants to continue to bring this art to the most deprived. For this edition, he has the support of the painter Mèg Black, the poet Ricardo Boucher and Domini Resain. 

"Jedi penti is a cultural activity organized in Haiti in different areas around painting, while having other artistic varieties such as poetry, musical performances, drum show and engaged music among others," informed Wismy Faustin, the principal organizer of the activity, to our editorial staff. 

On the other hand, Jedi penti is a pretext for Wismy to democratize painting in the country. The goal is to bring this art to the most underprivileged circles, those that the State deems are not worthy of this kind of activity, he says. “Long before the 17th century, painting activities were seen as an elite thing. Nowadays, it is often reserved for the middle class,” he added. 

Through this activity, Wismy intends to shine the spotlight on the colossal work carried out by painters in a country like Haiti where the conditions are more than difficult. As a painter, he says he witnesses the social undervaluation suffered by his peers. This situation is abnormal because an artist is a messenger, an icon for society, according to him. He wants the country to have a different look on painters and contributes to this effect with Jedi penti, which is the only national cultural activity where street painting is highlighted. 

During the first day, a training workshop will be led by three trainers Olrich Exantus, visual arts teacher at ENARTS, Charles Eronaldo, painter and student at IERAH and Ricardo Boucher, poet and presenter of the program "La Poésie", around from the theme “Enpòtans atizay nan konstriksyon moun”.  

On the menu of the second day, there will be an exhibition of works of art and painting sessions on the jerseys of the participants. Cherry on the cake, there will be a musical atmosphere with Rebèl Pakamò, Waya Vodou Flit and others, then a poetic recital with Ricardo Boucher.  

“I am always delighted to participate in Jedi penti which is one of the most open activities for people to fully enjoy painting in a single day. This activity has the particularity of causing a very strong feeling of impatience in me, out of a desire to see the happiness that is drawn on people's faces when I draw on their shirts, their faces or on their bodies", informed us, for her part, Mèg Black.  

The first three editions were organized in one day. The first was organized on August 5, 2021, in Petit-Goâve, the city of origin of the initiator of the project, which is close to his heart. The second, at Delmas 24, on November 29, 2021, at the painter Mèg Black, and the third was organized on December 9, at Delmas 75, on the Place de Fragneauville; this edition was adopted by Kawo lawouze. 

 The 4th edition will be even grander according to Wismy. This is why it will be organized in 2 days at the Champ-de-Mars, on the square built in honor of the father of the nation, Jean Jacques Dessallines; where many painters practice and a good number of longshoremen live. The latter, who do not have the possibility of going to the places where painting is honored, will have the possibility of taking part, this time. 

The choice of Champs-de-Mars as the main location was also made because Jedi penti remains a battle; that for the promotion of painters and the democratization of painting. The initiator firmly believes that organizing it at the foot of Emperor Dessallines, this great fighter, is of capital importance. In the activity, he wants to convey the energy that resides in this place for its artistic, historical and spiritual attractions. “There is no painting without spirituality,” says Wismy. 

Like the first 3 editions, to organize this 4th edition, Wismy Faustin can only count on the human resources available to Jedi Penti and will have to draw on its funds for the economic part, but he does not intend to give up. The appointment for this great activity which aims to create a certain close link between painters and the general public is therefore given for next March 30 and 31. 

Facebook Comments

Peterson Dorsainvil
Peterson Dorsainvil is a journalist, writer, slammer and mad lover of letters. In search of myself, I use my pen as my compass in this disoriented world.

EVENT

En route vers la 4ème édition de « Jedi penti » 

Encore une fois, les amoureux de la peinture ont rendez-vous avec ce grand art. La quatrième édition de « Jedi penti » se tiendra les 30 et 31 mars 2022, de 2 heures à 5 heures PM, au Champ-de-Mars. Après 3 premières éditions réussies, Wysmy Faustin, initiateur de cette activité qui permet d’établir une ferme interconnexion entre les peintres, veut continuer à apporter cet art aux plus démunis. Pour cette édition, il a le support du peintre Mèg Black, le poète Ricardo Boucher et Domini Resain. 

« Jedi penti est une activité culturelle organisée en Haïti dans différentes zones autour de la peinture, tout en ayant des autres variétés artistiques comme la poésie, des performances musicales, show de tambour et musiques engagées entre autres »,  a informé Wismy Faustin, le principal organisateur de l’activité, à notre rédaction. 

D’autre part, Jedi penti est un prétexte pour Wismy de démocratiser la peinture dans le pays. Le but est d’apporter cet art dans les milieux les plus défavorisés, ceux que l’Etat estiment qui ne sont pas dignes de ce genre d’activités, dit-il. « Bien avant le 17ème siècle, les activités de peinture ont été perçues comme une chose pour les gens de l’élite. A nos jours, c’est souvent réservé à la classe de la bourgeoisie », a-t-il ajouté. 

Par cette activité, Wismy entend allumer les projecteurs sur le colossal travail que réalisent les peintres dans un pays comme Haïti où les conditions sont plus que difficiles. En tant que peintre, il dit être témoin de la sous-estimation sociale que sont victimes ses pairs. Cette situation est anormale car un artiste est un messager, une icône pour la société, selon lui. Il veut que le pays ait un regard différent sur les peintres et contribue à cet effet avec Jedi penti, qui est l’unique activité culturelle nationale où l’on met la peinture de rue en valeur. 

Au cours de la première journée, un atelier de formation sera dirigé par trois formateurs Olrich Exantus, professeur plasticien à ENARTS, Charles Eronaldo, artiste peintre et étudiant à IERAH et Ricardo Boucher, poète et présentateur de l’émission « La Poésie », autour du thème ” Enpòtans atizay nan konstriksyon moun”.  

Au menu de la deuxième journée, il y aura une exposition d’œuvres d’art et des séances de peinture sur les maillots des participants. Cerises sur le gâteau, il y aura une ambiance musicale avec Rebèl Pakamò, Waya Vodou Flit et consorts puis un récital poétique avec Ricardo Boucher.  

Advertisements

« Je suis toujours enchanté de participer à Jedi penti qui est l’une des activités les plus ouvertes aux gens pour jouir intégralement la peinture en une seule journée. Cette activité a cette particularité de provoquer une très forte sensation d’impatience en moi, par envie de voir le bonheur qui se dessine sur le visage des gens quand je dessine sur leurs maillots, leurs visages ou sur leurs corps », nous a informé, pour sa part, Mèg Black.  

Les trois premières éditions ont été organisées en une journée. La première a été organisée le 5 août 2021, à Petit-Goâve, ville originaire de l’iniateur du projet, qu’il tient à cœur. La deuxième, à Delmas 24, le 29 novembre 2021, chez le peintre Mèg Black, et la troisième a été organisée le 9 décembre dernier, à Delmas 75, sur la place de Fragneauville ; cette édition a été adoptée par Kawo lawouze. 

 La 4ème édition sera encore plus grandiose à en croire Wismy. C’est pour cela qu’elle sera organisée en 2 jours au Champ-de-mars, sur la place construite en honneur du père de la nation, Jean Jacques Dessallines ; où pratiquent beaucoup d’artistes peintres et résident un bon nombre de débardeurs. Ces derniers, qui n’ont pas la possibilité de se rendre dans les lieux où la peinture est à l’honneur auront la possibilité d’y prendre part, cette fois. 

Le choix de Champs-de-mars comme principal lieu a été fait aussi parce que Jedi penti demeure une bataille ; celle pour la valorisation des artistes peintres et la démocratisation de la peinture. L’initiateur croit dur comme fer que l’organiser au pied de l’empereur Dessallines, ce si grand combattant, revêt une importance capitale. Dans l’activité, il veut charier l’énergie qui réside en ce lieu pour ses attraits artistique, historique et spirituel. « Il n’y a pas de peinture sans la spiritualité », avance Wismy. 

A l’instar des 3 premières éditions, pour organiser cette 4ème édition, Wismy Faustin ne peut compter que sur les ressources humaines que dispose Jedi penti et devra puiser dans ses fonds pour la partie économique mais il ne compte pas renoncer. Le rendez-vous pour cette grande activité qui vise à créer un certain lien étroit entre les peintres et le grand public est donc donné pour les 30 et 31 mars prochain. 

Facebook Comments

Peterson Dorsainvil
Peterson Dorsainvil est journaliste, écrivain, slameur et amoureux fou des lettres. En quête de moi-même, je fais de ma plume ma boussoule dans ce monde désorienté.