I-TECH

Communities, a new feature announced by WhatsApp 

On Thursday April 14, the messaging application WhatsApp announced the launch of a new feature. The latter, called “Community”, should make it possible to bring together different groups within the same structure. “Community” will be particularly suitable for schools, organizations, and must be tested for two months before being officially launched.  

Members will be able to receive messages intended for the community while continuing to discuss in their groups created around specific areas of interest. For example, a school can create a community on WhatsApp in which it can add the group of parents of students, that of teachers, of students in the same class, that of extracurricular activities, or even a group for the organization of activities. The school will be able to communicate information to parents, while targeting them via the various groups. 

Admins will be able to send messages to the entire community and control which groups can be added. Voice calls will be able to include 32 participants, and file sharing will be extended to allow the exchange of documents weighing up to 2 GB. 

Other possibilities that will be offered by “Community” are that users will now be able to reply to messages with emoji buttons, and administrators will be able to delete inappropriate or problematic messages for all members of the chat. Groups were limited to 256 members but “Community” will allow a larger audience, and it will be possible to join these groups without displaying their name or phone number. 

In addition, users will not be able to search for communities they wish to join on messaging: they must be part of a group, therefore having been added by an administrator. 

Note that Meta, which includes WhatsApp, has been the subject of much criticism, due to problems of moderation and transparency about its social networks. WhatsApp for its part has been criticized for being a space for the circulation of fake news. He therefore limited the scope of these groups in order to silence these rumors.  

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journalist / Communicator / Bookstagramer.

I-TECH

Les communautés, une nouvelle fonctionnalité annoncée par WhatsApp 

Le jeudi 14 avril dernier, l’application de messagerie WhatsApp a annoncé le lancement d’une nouvelle fonctionnalité. Cette dernière, baptisée “Communauté”, doit permettre de rassembler différents groupes au sein d’une même structure. “Communauté” sera particulièrement adapté aux écoles, organisations, et doit être testé durant deux mois avant d’être officiellement lancée.  

Les membres pourront recevoir des messages destinés à la communauté tout en continuant à discuter dans leurs groupes créer autour de centres d’intérêt spécifiques. Par exemple, une école peut créer une communauté sur WhatsApp dans laquelle elle pourra ajouter le groupe des parents d’élèves, celui des professeurs, des élèves d’une même classe, celui des activités parascolaires, ou encore un groupe pour l’organisation des activités. L’école pourra communiquer des informations aux parents, tout en ciblant ces derniers via les différents groupes. 

Les administrateurs pourront envoyer des messages à toute la communauté et contrôler les groupes qui peuvent être ajoutés. Les appels vocaux pourront inclure 32 participants, et le partage de fichiers sera étendu pour permettre l’échange de documents pesant jusqu’à 2 Go. 

Advertisements

Autres possibilités qui seront proposées par “Communauté” sont que les utilisateurs pourront désormais répondre aux messages avec des boutons émojis, et les administrateurs pourront supprimer les messages inappropriés ou problématiques pour tous les membres de la discussion. Les groupes étaient limités à 256 membres mais “Communauté” permettra une plus grande audience, et il sera possible de rejoindre ces groupes sans afficher son nom ou son numéro de téléphone. 

Par ailleurs, Les utilisateurs ne pourront pas chercher des communautés qu’ils souhaitent rejoindre sur la messagerie : ils devront faire partie d’un groupe, donc avoir été ajoutés par un administrateur. 

Soulignons que Meta, dont fait partie WhatsApp, a été sujet de nombreuses critiques, à cause de problèmes de modération et de transparence au sujet de ses réseaux sociaux. WhatsApp de son côté a été critiquée pour être un espace de circulation de fake news. Il limitait donc la portée de ces groupes afin de faire taire ces rumeurs.  

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journaliste / Communicatrice / Bookstagrameuse.