EVENT

The students of Medicine and Pharmacy of the University of Notre Dame d'Haiti celebrated with great fanfare the Bicolore Haitien 

Photo: Daphney Herold-Medical and pharmacy students at Notre Dame University in Haiti celebrated the Haitian bicolor with great fanfare

At the initiative of the Faculty of Medicine and Pharmacy of the University of Notre Dame d'Haiti, the traditional “Jounen patriotik” was performed again this year, to celebrate the 219th anniversary of the Haitian flag. Conferences, gastronomic fairs, exhibition of craft products contributed to making this day a success. 

Capture: Daphney Herold

The conferences carried out around the themes “Haiti, is it a Nation State" and " the expression of the bicolor in our lives as citizens of today”, were an opportunity for the panelists and the organizing staff, to carry out a work of memory, to awaken the civic and humanitarian conscience of each Haitian so that they realize that they have a note to play in the score of change in Haiti. 

Capture: Daphney Herold

According to the cultural manager for the promotion of medicine and pharmacy at Notre Dame University in Haiti, Daphney Herold, the flag festival is important for the organizers and for her who calls herself a great patriot and who will never deny her origins despite the situation in the country. For them, the patriotic day attests that they are Haitians and will remain so. 

“The patriotic day means that we agree to be Haitians and to remain so despite the difficulties we encounter in the country. But it also means that we should not feel comfortable in all these difficulties which are harmful for us, for our future children and our future grandchildren” 

Indeed, the patriotic day was canceled last year due to the problem of insecurity in the country and this year, without the persistence and determination of the staff, it would still be canceled. On this day, the cultural manager wanted to break this conception of society which believes that medical students do not care about the current reality of the country, Explains Daphney Herold, who is satisfied with the success of this day despite the obstacles encountered in its realization.  

Dishes and products coming directly from producing cities, such as Cap-Haitien, Jérémie, were presented during the gastronomic fair. Finding the products in their very cities has been a real challenge for the organizers, due to the insecurity raging in various parts of the country and the poor state of the roads. But the students got involved and were able to find a large quantity of products to present to the public who made the trip. Handicrafts and caricatures made by the students were also exhibited. 

Advertisements

Katizana, an entrepreneurial movement carried out by prisoners, was present during this day and exhibited products made by prisoners. Katizana's presence was a real joy for Daphney Herold who cherishes the dream of promoting the reintegration of prisoners into society. 

“A reintegration of former incarcerated in society will allow them not to become a social handicap is all that means for the country after their release. It could be a big step against the growing insecurity in the country,” she continued. 

Although part of the public was skeptical, but a large part welcomed the prisoners' works very well. Greeting cards made by them were sold and proposals for conferences were made, according to Cassandrine Destima, contacted by the organizers of the patriotic day, for a contact with the persons in charge for Katizana. 

Following this activity, Daphney Herold hopes for an involvement of Haitian youth in the fight for the improvement of living conditions in Haiti, to give another image of medical and pharmacy students, which will make people recognize that even if their studies take up a lot of their time, they are despite this leaders involved in the change of the community.  

They want the authorities concerned to open their eyes to their situation, because they are one of the biggest victims of insecurity in the country: their training is often blocked each time a student, a professor or doctors are kidnapped. 

Daphney Herold hopes that civic education will resume in schools and that every Haitian avoid demeaning and anti-Haiti “jokes” with regard to the country. These repeated words, even if they seem amusing, can be taken seriously by the children who will surely perpetuate them, because it is us, the elders, who are their models.  

“Speaking of role models, I wish young people would stop promoting bad morals even if it's ironic, because you give energy, soul and priority to everything you highlight either in right or wrong, concluded Daphney Herold.

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journalist / Communicator / Bookstagramer.

EVENT

Les étudiants en Médecine et Pharmacie de l’Université Notre Dame d’Haïti ont célébré en grande pompe le Bicolore Haïtien 

Photo : Daphney Herold-les étudiants en médecine et pharmacie de l'université notre dame d'haïti ont célébré en grande pompe le bicolore haïtien

À l’initiative de la faculté de Médecine et de Pharmacie de l’Université Notre Dame d’Haïti, le traditionnel “Jounen patriotik” a été réalisé encore cette année, pour célébrer le 219ème anniversaire du drapeau Haïtien. Conférences, foire gastronomiques, exposition de produits artisanaux ont contribué à faire de cette journée une réussite. 

Capture : Daphney Herold

Les conférences réalisées autour des thèmes “Haïti, est-elle un État Nation” et ” l’expression du bicolore dans notre vie en tant que citoyens d’aujourd’hui “, étaient l’occasion pour les panélistes et le staff organisateur, de réaliser un travail de mémoire, réveiller la conscience citoyenne et humanitaire de chaque haïtien afin qu’ils se rendent compte qu’ils ont une note à jouer dans la partition du changement en Haïti. 

Capture : Daphney Herold

Selon la responsable culturelle de la promotion de médecine et pharmacie de l’Université Notre dame d’Haïti, Daphney Herold, la fête du drapeau est importante pour les organisateurs et pour elle qui se dit grande patriote et qui ne reniera jamais ses origines malgré la situation du pays. Pour eux, la journée patriotique atteste qu’ils sont haïtiens et le resteront. 

“La journée patriotique signifie que nous sommes d’accord d’être haïtiens et de le rester malgré les difficultés que nous rencontrons dans le pays. Mais elle veut dire également que nous ne devons pas nous sentir à notre aise dans toutes ces difficultés qui sont néfastes pour nous, pour nos futurs enfants et nos futurs petits-enfants” 

En effet, la journée patriotique a été annulée l’année dernière due au problème de l’insécurité dans le pays et cette année, sans la persistance et la détermination du staff, elle serait encore annulée. Par cette journée, la responsable culturelle tenait à briser cette conception de la société qui croit que les étudiants en médecine ne se soucient pas de la réalité actuelle du pays, Explique Daphney Herold, qui se dit satisfaite de la réussite de cette journée malgré les obstacles rencontrés à sa réalisation.  

Des plats et produits venus directement des villes productrices, comme le Cap-Haïtien, Jérémie, ont été présentés durant la foire gastronomique. Trouver les produits dans leurs villes même a été un véritable challenge pour les organisateurs, à cause de l’insécurité qui fait rage dans divers coins du pays et du mauvais état des routes. Mais les étudiants se sont impliqués et ont pu trouver une grande quantité de produits à présenter au public qui a fait le déplacement. Des produits artisanaux et des caricatures réalisées par les étudiants ont également été exposés. 

Advertisements

Katizana, un mouvement entrepreneurial réalisé par des prisonniers, a été présent lors de cette journee et a exposé des produits réalisés par les incarcérés. La présence de Katizana a été un vrai bonheur pour Daphney Herold qui caresse le rêve de faire la promotion de la réinsertion des prisonniers au sein de la société. 

“Une réinsertion des anciens.nes incarcérés.es dans la société permettra qu’ils ne deviennent pas un handicap social est tout ce que cela représente pour le pays après leur libération. Ça pourrait être un grand pas contre l’insécurité grandissante dans le pays”, a-t-elle poursuivi. 

Bien qu’une partie du public ait été sceptique, mais une grande partie à très bien accueilli les œuvres des prisonniers. Des cartes de vœux réalisés par eux ont été vendues et des propositions de conférences ont été faites, selon Cassandrine Destima, contactée par les organisateurs de la journée patriotique, pour un contact avec les responsables de Katizana. 

Suite à cette activité, Daphney Herold espère une implication de la jeunesse Haïtienne dans la lutte pour l’amélioration des conditions de vie en Haïti, donner une autre image des étudiants de médecine et de pharmacie, qui fera reconnaître que même si les études leur prennent beaucoup de leur temps, ils sont malgré cela des leaders impliqués dans le changement de la communauté.  

Ils souhaitent que les autorités concernées ouvrent les yeux sur leur situation, car ils sont l’un des plus grandes victimes de l’insécurité dans le pays : leur formation est souvent bloquée à chaque fois qu’un étudiant, un professeur ou des médecins sont kidnappés. 

Daphney Herold souhaite que l’instruction civique reprenne place dans les écoles et que chaque haïtien évite les “blagues” dévalorisantes et anti Haïti à l’égard du pays. Ces mots répétés, même s’ils paraissent amusants peuvent être pris au sérieux par les enfants qui les perpétueront sûrement, car ce sont nous, les ainés qui sont leurs modèles.  

“En parlant de modèle, je souhaite que les jeunes arrêtent de faire la promotion de mauvaises mœurs même si c’est par ironie, car vous donnez de l’énergie, une âme et une priorité à tout ce dont vous mettez en lumière soit en bien ou en mal, a conclu Daphney Herold.

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journaliste / Communicatrice / Bookstagrameuse.