SPORTS

Champions League: New format from 2024-2025 

photo: Radio-Canada.ca

UEFA's executive committee has approved a new format for its flagship club competition, the Champions League. This format, known as the “Swiss System”, will come into effect from the 2024-2025 season. 

The UEFA Champions League, as we know it, will soon be a thing of the past. The parent body of European football has decided to make changes that will completely revolutionize the competition, they will be adopted from the 2024-25 financial year. 

The current format admits 32 teams in the final phase, they are divided into 8 groups of 4 teams and each play 6 matches in the first round. The upcoming format will have 36 teams playing against 8 different teams in a first phase, in 4 home games and 4 others away. 

Advertisements

At the end of this phase of the championship, the 8 best teams will qualify for the knockout phase. The teams ranked between 9th and 24th place will take part in a play-off (round trip) to determine which of them will reach the 1/8 finals. 

A format that will be beneficial to Ligue 1 since now the 3rd in the championship will be directly qualified for the event. UEFA will make the same changes in its other competitions. 

Facebook Comments

Ligue des Champions : Nouveau format à partir de 2024-2025 

Jephte Pascal
Jephte Pascal
photo : Radio-Canada.ca
Écoutez cet article

Le comité exécutif de l’UEFA a approuvé pour un nouveau format pour sa compétition phare au niveau des clubs, la Ligue des Champions. Ce format portant l’appellation de « Système Suisse » entrera en vigueur à partir de la saison 2024-2025. 

La Ligue des Champions de l’UEFA, telle qu’on la connait, c’est bientôt du passé. L’instance mère du football Européen a décidé d’apporter des modifications révolutionnant complètement la compétition, elles seront adoptées à partir de l’exercice 2024-25. 

- Advertisement -
Ad imageAd image

Le format actuel admet 32 équipes en phase finale, elles sont divisées en 8 groupes de 4 équipes et disputent chacune 6 matchs lors du premier tour. Le format à venir aura 36 équipes qui joueront se mesureront à 8 équipes différentes dans une première phase, lors de 4 matchs à domicile et 4 autres à l’extérieur. 

À l’issue de cette phase du championnat, les 8 meilleures équipes seront qualifiées pour la phase à élimination directe. Les équipes classées entre la 9e et la 24e place prendront part à un barrage (aller-retour) pour déterminer celles d’entre qui accéderont aux 1/8 de finale. 

Un format qui sera profitable à la Ligue 1 puisque désormais le 3e du championnat sera directement qualifié pour l’épreuve. L’UEFA effectuera les mêmes modifications dans ses autres compétitions. 

Facebook Comments

- Advertisement -
Partagez cet article
Follow:
Homme de lettres. Étudiant à la Faculté de Linguistique Appliquée de l'UEH. Rédacteur sportif de NetAlKole Media ainsi que présentateur de Pale Boul.