NETALKOLE

“Haiti's instability should be high on the agenda at the Summit of the Americas,” urges US Senator Marco Rubio 

Sen. Marco Rubio, R-Fla., speaks during a Senate Intelligence Committee nomination hearing for Rep. John Ratcliffe, R-Texas, on Capitol Hill in Washington, Tuesday May. 5, 2020. Panel Considers Ratcliffe Appointment as Director of National Intelligence. (AP Photo/Andrew Harnik, pool)

Florida Republican Senator Marco Rubio calls on the Biden administration to make the ongoing crisis in Haiti, which is fueling a wave of migration across the region and at sea, a priority at the upcoming Summit of the Americas on June 6 in Los Angeles. 

“The instability in Haiti has an impact on several countries,” said Marco Rubio, during a hearing in the Senate Foreign Relations Subcommittee on the Western Hemisphere Thursday about the upcoming summit. “Even Cuba is now intercepting Haitian migrants. ", he added.
Haiti's Prime Minister, Dr. Ariel Henry, is among many hemispheric leaders who have been invited to the June 6 summit, which is being hosted by the United States for the first time since its inaugural launch in Miami in 1994. .  

The issue of migration is among the focal points of the discussions, as thousands of Haitians, Cubans, Venezuelans and Central Americans continue to transit through Central America to cross the United States border with Mexico, reports the American newspaper Miami Herald. 

Advertisements

At the same time, there was a surge in crossings of Haitian and Cuban migrants at sea, while nearly 800 Haitians also made their way to U.S. territory from Puerto Rico through the dangerous Mona Passage that separates island and Hispaniola. In the United States, the Coast Guard has already arrested more than 5,000 Haitians at sea since October. On Wednesday, a Haitian freighter bound for the Florida Keys with 800 Haitians on board ran aground in the Cuban seas after beginning to take on water. 

“It is really important that the instability of Haiti is a subject on which to focus, because I think that there are countries in the region which have a direct interest, starting with the Dominican Republic which obviously shares Hispaniola with them, but others who have a vested interest in contributing to some level of government stability there and security, so that that can then be built on to provide a better future,” Senator Rubio said adding that he just hope that the subject of instability in Haiti will appear as a priority on the agenda at the Summit of the Americas, next June 6 in Los Angeles.

Facebook Comments

Mackendy Filderice
Political science student at Quisqueya University, Journalist-Editor at Netalkolemedia, Publicist, Humanitarian. Lover of life and learning.

NETALKOLE

“L’instabilité d’Haïti devrait figurer comme priorité à l’ordre du jour lors du Sommet des Amériques” exhorte le sénateur Américain Marco Rubio 

Le sénateur Marco Rubio, R-Fla., Prend la parole lors d'une audience de nomination du comité sénatorial du renseignement pour le représentant John Ratcliffe, R-Texas, sur Capitol Hill à Washington, mardi mai. 5, 2020. Le panel envisage la nomination de Ratcliffe au poste de directeur du renseignement national. (AP Photo/Andrew Harnik, pool)

Le Sénateur républicain de la Floride, Marco Rubio invite l’administration Biden à faire de la crise actuelle d’Haïti, qui contribue à alimenter une vague de migration dans toute la région et en mer, une priorité lors du Sommet des Amériques qui aura lieu le 6 juin prochain à Los Angeles. 

« L’instabilité en Haïti a un impact sur plusieurs pays », a déclaré Marco Rubio, lors d’une audition au sein de la sous-commission sénatoriale des relations étrangères sur l’hémisphère occidental jeudi à propos du prochain sommet. « Même Cuba intercepte maintenant les migrants haïtiens. », a-t-il ajouté.
Le Chef du gouvernement Haïtien, le Dr Ariel Henry, fait partie des nombreux dirigeants de l’hémisphère qui ont été invités au sommet du 6 juin, qui est accueilli par les États-Unis pour la première fois depuis son lancement inaugural à Miami en 1994.  

La question de la migration figure parmi les points focaux des discussions, alors que des milliers d’Haïtiens, de Cubains, de Vénézuéliens et d’Amérique centrale continuent de transiter par l’Amérique centrale pour traverser la frontière américaine avec le Mexique, rapporte le journal américain Miami Herald. 

Advertisements

Dans le même temps, il y a eu une forte augmentation des traversées de migrants haïtiens et cubains en mer, tandis que près de 800 Haïtiens se sont également rendus sur le territoire américain de Porto Rico en traversant le dangereux passage de Mona qui sépare l’île et Hispaniola. Aux États-Unis, la Garde côtière a déjà arrêté plus de 5 000 Haïtiens en mer depuis octobre. Mercredi, un cargo haïtien à destination de Florida Keys avec 800 Haïtiens à bord s’est échoué dans la mer cubaines après avoir commencé à prendre de l’eau. 

“Il est vraiment important que l’instabilité d’Haïti soit un sujet sur lequel se focalise, car je pense qu’il y a des pays de la région qui ont un intérêt direct, à commencer par la République Dominicaine qui partage évidemment Hispaniola avec eux, mais d’autres qui ont un intérêt direct à contribuer à un certain niveau de stabilité gouvernementale là-bas et de sécurité, afin que cela puisse ensuite être construit pour fournir un meilleur avenir”, a déclaré le sénateur Rubio précisant qu’il espère juste que le sujet d’instabilité en Haïti figurera comme priorité à l’ordre du jour lors du Sommet Des Amériques, le 6 Juin prochain à Los Angeles.

Facebook Comments

Mackendy Filderice
Étudiant en sciences politiques à l'Université Quisqueya, Journaliste-Rédacteur à Netalkolemedia, Publiciste, Humanitaire. Amoureux de la vie et de l'apprentissage.