EVENT

Troy Kotsur, the first deaf actor to win an Oscar

For the film “Coda” (Child of deaf adult) which literally means “hearing child born of deaf parents” in which he plays the role of a grumpy but sensitive and loving father, actor Troy Kotsur won the Oscar for best supporting male role. He then becomes the first deaf male actor to obtain this distinction.

"I can't believe I'm here," he said through a sign language interpreter. “Look at me, I did it! I love you, thank you, ”he continued, with regard to his family.

Troy Kotsur dedicated the award to the people who made the film possible, the deaf community and people with disabilities "this is our time". He paid tribute to his paralyzed father following a car accident “I will always love you you are my hero”. He also praised the film's director Sian Heder, as the best communicator.

Deaf from birth, Troy Kotsur (53) had already been recognized for decades as a theater actor, with major roles on Broadway. In the cinema, he had been noticed, for his role in “The number 23”, starring Jim Carrey.

In winning this award, he beat Ciaran Hinds, JK Simmons, Jesse Plemons and Kodi Smit-McPhee.

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journalist / Communicator / Bookstagramer.

EVENT

Troy Kotsur, le premier acteur sourd à remporter un Oscar

Pour le film “Coda” (Child of deaf adult) qui signifie littéralement “enfant entendant né de parents sourds” dans lequel il interprète le rôle d’un père grognon mais sensible et aimant, l’acteur Troy Kotsur remporte l’Oscar du meilleur second rôle masculin. Il devient alors le premier acteur masculin sourd, à obtenir cette distinction.

« Je ne peux pas croire que je suis ici », a-t-il déclaré par l’intermédiaire d’un interprète de langues des signes. « Regardez-moi, je l’ai fait! Je vous aime, merci », a-t-il poursuivi, à l’égard de sa famille.

Troy Kotsur a dédié le prix aux gens qui ont rendu la réalisation du film possible, à la communauté sourdes et aux personnes handicapées “c’est notre moment”. Il a rendu un hommage à son père paralysé suite à un accident de voiture “je t’aimerai toujours tu es mon héros”. Il a également félicité le réalisateur du film Sian Heder, comme le meilleur communicateur.

Advertisements

Sourd de naissance, Troy Kotsur(53 ans) était déjà reconnu depuis des décennies en tant qu’acteur de théâtre, avec de grands rôles à Broadway. Au cinéma, il avait été remarqué, pour son rôle dans “Le nombre 23”, avec Jim Carrey en vedette.

En remportant ce prix, il devance Ciaran Hinds, J.K. Simmons, Jesse Plemons et Kodi Smit-McPhee.

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journaliste / Communicatrice / Bookstagrameuse.