INTERNATIONAL

Faced with the Russian invasion, the United States wants to release an additional 40 billion dollars for Ukraine  

image source: evening

The war in Ukraine continues to rage in the east and south of the country, and the United States of America wants to continue to support it. The American Congress took a first step on Tuesday, May 11, 2022 by evoking the release of a new funding envelope of nearly 40 billion dollars to support Ukraine. 

A huge sum that will be allocated to Kyiv following the unwavering support of US President Joe Biden for Russia's current adversary, Ukraine. 

President Biden had been asking for several weeks for a considerable extension of a budget of 33 billion dollars to support Ukraine against the Russian invasion, but the Democratic leaders decided otherwise and agreed to go further with a envelope of 40 billion dollars.  

The decision must now be voted on in the Senate by next week before being promulgated by the current tenant of the White House.  

"Passing this emergency funding quickly is critical to helping the people of Ukraine in their fight against cruel Putin," Senate Democrat Leader Chuck Schumer said Tuesday. 

Nancy Pelosi – Democratic Speaker of the House of Representatives – a few hours before this text was adopted by elected officials on both sides, declared that “with this aid program, America is sending the world the signal of our unwavering determination to support the courageous people of Ukraine until victory” against Moscow. 

Part of this fund, ie 6 billion dollars, will enable Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky to equip his country with armored vehicles and strengthen its air defence. Nearly 9 billion are also planned to ensure, among other things, "the continuity of Ukrainian democratic institutions", as well as a large humanitarian component, informs the American press. 

With this new envelope of 40 billion US dollars, Ukraine will obtain support from the United States equivalent to Cameroon's GDP in 2020. 

Since the Russian offensive against its neighbor on April 24, the losses and damage have been considerable. 

For Mariupol alone, a death toll of 20,000 Ukrainians has been reported. Volodymyr Zelensky said that around 2,500 to 3,000 Ukrainian soldiers had been killed and some 10,000 injured in the fighting against the Russian invader. 

In its camp, Russia has also admitted “significant losses”. Some Western sources speak of 12,000 Russian soldiers killed, while the war is far from over. 

Facebook Comments

Pooshy Rosana
Pooshy Rosana, journalist-editor at Netalkolemedia, cartoonist and graphic designer. At the same time, fitness coach. Loves popular culture, documentaries and bodybuilding.

INTERNATIONAL

Face à l’invasion russe, les États-Unis veulent débloquer 40 milliards de dollars supplémentaires pour l’Ukraine  

source image : Le soir

La guerre en Ukraine continue de faire rage dans l’est et le sud du pays, et les États-Unis d’Amérique veulent continuer à apporter leur soutien à celui-ci. Le congrès américain a franchi un premier cap mardi 11 mai 2022 en évoquant le déblocage d’une nouvelle enveloppe de financement de près de 40 milliards de dollars pour supporter l’Ukraine. 

Une faramineuse somme qui sera allouée à Kyiv suivant le soutien indéfectible du président américain Joe Biden à l’actuel adversaire de la Russie, l’Ukraine. 

Le président Biden réclamait depuis plusieurs semaines une rallonge considérable d’un budget de 33 milliards de dollars pour appuyer l’Ukraine contre l’invasion russe, mais les chefs démocrates ont décidé autrement et se sont mis d’accord pour aller plus loin avec une enveloppe de 40 milliards de dollars.  

La décision doit désormais être voté au Sénat d’ici la semaine prochaine avant d’être promulguée par l’actuel locataire de la Maison-Blanche.  

« Adopter rapidement ce financement d’urgence est essentiel pour aider le peuple ukrainien dans sa lutte contre Poutine le cruel », a déclaré mardi le chef des démocrates au Sénat, Chuck Schumer. 

Nancy Pelosi – présidente démocrate de la Chambre des représentants– quelques heures avant que ce texte ne soit adopté par des élus des deux camps, a quant à elle déclaré qu’« avec ce programme d’aide, l’Amérique envoie au monde entier le signal de notre détermination inébranlable à soutenir le peuple courageux d’Ukraine jusqu’à la victoire » contre Moscou. 

Une partie de ce fond, soit 6 milliards de dollars, devra permettre au président ukrainien Volodymyr Zelensky d’équiper son pays en véhicules blindés, de renforcer sa défense aérienne. Près de 9 milliards sont prévus également pour assurer entre autres « la continuité des institutions démocratiques ukrainiennes », ainsi qu’un large volet humanitaire, informe presse américaine. 

Avec cette nouvelle enveloppe de 40 milliards de dollars américains, l’Ukraine obtiendra des États-Unis un support équivalent au PIB du Cameroun en 2020. 

Depuis l’offensive russe contre son voisin le 24 avril dernier, les pertes et les dégâts sont considérables. 

Rien que pour Marioupol, un bilan de 20.000 Ukrainiens morts a été rapporté. Volodymyr Zelensky a déclaré qu’environ 2.500 à 3.000 soldats ukrainiens avaient été tués et quelque 10.000 blessés recensés lors des combats contre l’envahisseur russe. 

Dans son camp, la Russie a aussi admis des “pertes importantes”. Certaines sources occidentales parlent de 12.000 soldats russes tués, alors que la guerre est loin d’être terminée. 

Facebook Comments

Pooshy Rosana
Pooshy Rosana, journaliste-rédacteur à Netalkolemedia, caricaturiste et graphiste. Parallèlement, coach fitness. Adore la culture populaire, les documentaires et la musculation.