CARIBBEAN NEWS

CARICOM warns it won't go to Summit of the Americas if there are exclusions  

caricom warns she won't go to americas summit if there are exclusions

The Ambassador of Antigua and Barbuda to the United States, Ronald Sanders revealed this Thursday, May 5, 2022 that the countries of the Caribbean Community (Caricom) would consider absenting themselves from the so-called Summit of the Americas which will take place next June in Los Angeles if Cuba, Venezuela and Nicaragua are excluded. 

Indeed, the Assistant Secretary of State for Western Hemisphere Affairs announced Monday, May 2, that Cuba, Nicaragua and Venezuela would not be invited to the Summit of the Americas to be held next June in Los Angeles, because he believes that they “do not respect” democracy. 

Following this statement by the Assistant Secretary of State for Western Hemisphere Affairs, diplomat Ronald Sanders said that the 14 countries of the Caribbean Community (Caricom) will not be present at this event which will take place in June in Los Angeles if and only if the exclusion of the aforementioned states occurs. 

“The Summit of the Americas is not a meeting of the United States, so it cannot decide who is invited and who is not, it is a summit of all the heads of state of the 'western hemisphere', specifies the ambassador of Antigua and Barbuda in the United States. 

However, Cuban President Miguel Díaz-Canel this week affirmed Cuban Foreign Minister Bruno Rodriguez's statements, saying that Washington is pressuring several countries in the region that oppose the exclusion decision. 

Advertisements

“Humanity's great challenges are not resolved through confrontation and violence, but through solidarity and cooperation,” the Cuban president said. Likewise, the President of Mexico, Andrés Manuel López Obrador called for the inclusion of all countries in the Summit of the Americas 

The member countries of CARICOM clearly express their position that if Cuba and other countries are excluded from the Summit of the Americas, none of them will take part. 

EDITOR: Mackendy Filderice 

COPYRIGHT: NETALKOLE MEDIA 2022 

Facebook Comments

Mackendy Filderice
Political science student at Quisqueya University, Journalist-Editor at Netalkolemedia, Publicist, Humanitarian. Lover of life and learning.

CARIBBEAN NEWS

La CARICOM avertit qu’elle n’irait pas au Sommet des Amériques s’il y a des exclusions  

la caricom avertit qu'elle n'irait pas au sommet des amériques s'il y a des exclusions

L’ambassadeur d’Antigua-et-Barbuda aux États-Unis, Ronald Sanders a révélé ce jeudi 5 mai 2022 que les pays de la Communauté des Caraïbes (Caricom) envisageraient de s’absenter du soi-disant Sommet des Amériques qui aura lieu en juin prochain à Los Angeles si Cuba, Venezuela et Nicaragua sont exclus. 

En effet, Le secrétaire d’État adjoint aux affaires de l’hémisphère occidental a annoncé lundi 2 mai que Cuba, Nicaragua et Venezuela ne seraient pas invités au Sommet des Amériques qui se tiendra en juin prochain à Los Angeles, car il estime qu’ils “ne respectent pas” la démocratie. 

Suite à cette déclaration du secrétaire d’Etat adjoint aux affaires de l’hémisphère occidentale, le diplomate Ronald Sanders a déclaré que les 14 pays de la Communauté des Caraïbes (Caricom) ne seront pas présents à cet événement qui aura lieu en juin à Los Angeles si et seulement si l’exclusion des États susmentionnés se produit. 

“Le Sonmet des Amériques n’est pas une réunion des États-Unis, il ne peut donc pas décider qui est invité et qui ne l’est pas, il s’agit d’un sommet de tous les chefs d’État de l’hémisphère occidenta”, précise l’ambassadeur d’Antigua-et-Barbuda aux États-Unis. 

Cependant, le président cubain Miguel Díaz-Canel a affirmé cette semaine les déclarations du ministre cubain des Affaires étrangères Bruno Rodriguez, déclarant que Washington fait pression sur plusieurs pays de la région qui s’opposent à cette décision d’exclusion. 

Advertisements

“Les grands défis de l’humanité ne sont pas résolus par la confrontation et la violence, mais par la solidarité et la coopération”, a déclaré le président cubain. De même, le président du Mexique, Andrés Manuel López Obrador a appelé à l’inclusion de tous les pays au Sommet des Amériques 

Les pays membres de la CARICOM expriment clairement leur position, selon laquelle, si Cuba et d’autres pays sont exclus du Sommet des Amériques, aucun d’entre eux n’y prendront part. 

REDACTION : Mackendy Filderice 

COPYRIGHT : NETALKOLE MEDIA 2022 

Facebook Comments

Mackendy Filderice
Étudiant en sciences politiques à l'Université Quisqueya, Journaliste-Rédacteur à Netalkolemedia, Publiciste, Humanitaire. Amoureux de la vie et de l'apprentissage.