INTERNATIONAL

The Colombian Constitutional Court authorizes assisted suicide for the sick 

Photo: L'Obs
Listen to this article

“The doctor who helps a person in the throes of intense suffering or serious illness and who freely decides to dispose of his own life, acts within the constitutional framework” judged the Constitutional Court of Colombia. 

A great first in Latin America: Colombia, where euthanasia has been authorized since 1997, has just authorized, yesterday Thursday, May 12, suicide assisted by a doctor by medication, for people suffering from a serious or incurable disease. . 

With six judges for and 3 against the Colombian Constitutional Court repealed an article of the penal code, punishing from 12 to 36 months any person providing assistance to suicide, and preventing a doctor from providing the necessary assistance to a person who, in the exercising personal autonomy, chooses to die with dignity.  

According to the court, the doctor is the one who has the best technical, scientific and ethical tools to guarantee the safeguard of human dignity in this procedure.  

“Advances in science should be used selflessly and in solidarity with those in extreme health who desire a dignified death,” the court continued. 

To be eligible for assisted suicide, the person must be diagnosed with a serious or incurable injury or illness, causing them intense physical or mental pain, deemed incompatible with a dignified life.  

Advertisements

“This is a decisive step for our country to consolidate its position as one of the most advanced in the world in terms of the right to die with dignity” declared the research director of Desc LAB, a human rights laboratory economic, social and cultural, Lucas Correa to the Reuters newspaper. 

By applying this law, Colombia becomes the first country in Latin America to authorize assisted suicide. However, it still punishes up to 9 years in prison whoever incites or helps to end the life of a person in intense suffering, due to bodily injury or illness, outside the legal framework. that is, without the supervision of a doctor. 

In July 2021, Colombia had extended the right to assisted suicide, authorizing it to patients who are not terminally ill, but who nevertheless suffer from intense physical or psychological pain resulting from bodily harm or serious illness. and incurable.  

This decision is highly criticized by some movements and organizations of this Catholic country, for example, the Pro-Life movement, criticizes, among other things, the fact that it is a handful of magistrates and not the Congress which decides on subjects sensitive such as abortion, euthanasia or suicide.  

Three months ago, this same Constitutional Court had decriminalized abortion up to 24 weeks of pregnancy. 

The difference between euthanasia and assisted suicide is who administers the lethal drug. For assisted suicide, it is the patient who injects the product directly, under the supervision of a doctor, while for euthanasia, it is the medical staff who take care of it. 

Click to download NetAlkole News App Free

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journalist / Communicator / Bookstagramer.

INTERNATIONAL

La cour constitutionnelle Colombienne autorise le suicide assisté pour les malades 

Photo : L'Obs
Listen to this article

“Le médecin qui aide une personne en proie à une souffrance intense ou à une maladie grave et qui décide librement de disposer de sa propre vie, agit dans le cadre constitutionnel “a jugé la Cour constitutionnelle de Colombie. 

Une grande première en Amérique Latine : la Colombie, où l’euthanasie est autorisée depuis 1997, vient d’autoriser, hier jeudi 12 mai, le suicide assisté d’un médecin par médicaments, pour les personnes souffrantes d’une maladie grave ou incurable. 

Avec six juges pour et 3 contre la Cour constitutionnelle Colombienne a abrogé un article du code pénal, punissant de 12 à 36 mois toute personne fournissant une aide au suicide, et empêchant un médecin de fournir l’aide nécessaire à une personne qui, dans l’exercice de son autonomie personnelle, choisit de mourir dans la dignité.  

Selon la cour, le médecin est celui qui dispose des meilleurs outils techniques, scientifiques et éthiques permettant de garantir la sauvegarde de la dignité humaine dans cette procédure.  

“Les avancées de la science doivent être utilisées de manière altruiste et solidaire envers ceux qui sont dans un état de santé extrême et qui désirent une mort digne.”a poursuivi la cour. 

Pour etre éligible au suicide assisté, la personne doit être diagnostiquée d’une blessure ou d’une maladie grave ou incurable, leur causant une douleur physique ou mentale intense, jugée incompatible avec une vie digne.  

Advertisements

“Il s’agit d’une étape décisive pour que notre pays consolide sa position comme l’un des plus avancés au monde en matière de droit à mourir dans la dignité” a déclaré le directeur de recherche de Desc LAB, un laboratoire des droits économiques, sociaux et culturels, Lucas Correa au journal Reuters. 

En appliquant cette loi, la Colombie devient le premier pays en Amérique latine a autorisé le suicide assisté. Cependant, il punit toujours jusqu’à 9 ans de prison quiconque incite ou aide à mettre fin à la vie d’une personne en souffrances intenses, en raison d’un préjudice corporel ou d’une maladie, en dehors du cadre légal c’est à dire, sans la supervision d’un médecin. 

En juillet 2021, la Colombie avait étendu le droit au suicide assisté, en l’autorisant aux malades qui ne sont pas en phase terminale, mais souffrant toutefois d’intenses douleurs physiques ou psychologiques résultant d’un préjudice corporel ou d’une maladie grave et incurable.  

Cette décision, est très critiquée de quelques mouvements et organisations de ce pays franc Catholique, par exemple, le mouvement Pro-Vie, critique, entre autres, le fait que ce soit une poignée de magistrats et non le Congrès qui se prononce sur des sujets sensibles comme l’avortement, l’euthanasie ou le suicide.  

Trois mois de cela, cette même Cour constitutionnelle avait dépénalisé l’avortement jusqu’à 24 semaine de grossesse. 

La différence entre l’euthanasie et le suicide assisté réside dans la personne qui administre le médicament létal. Pour un suicide assisté, c’est le malade qui s’injecte directement le produit, sous le contrôle d’un médecin, alors que pour l’euthanasie, c’est le personnel médical qui s’en charge. 

Click to download NetAlkole News App Free

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journaliste / Communicatrice / Bookstagrameuse.