INTERNATIONAL

Lisa Cook, first black woman governor of the US central bank  

Photo: RFI

It is definitely the turn of black women to be promoted to important positions in an American government: a black judge on the Supreme Court, a black vice-president, a black spokeswoman, and now the governor of the central bank of the United States is black. And all of this is for a great premiere in the United States!!  

On Tuesday, May 10, the US Senate confirmed the appointment of Lisa Cook as head of the US central bank until January 2024. She thus becomes the first woman, who is also black, to hold this position. 

Despite the opposition of elected Republicans, which prevented senators from reaching the organization of the final confirmation vote, at the end of April, Lisa Cook, chosen by President Joe Biden, was able to obtain the majority of votes, thanks to the vote of the American vice-president, Kamala Harris. With 51 votes for and 50 against, Mrs. Cook is now governor of the Fed, the central bank of the United States.  

His appointment comes as the US central bank has to fight against high inflation, without weighing on economic growth and employment. 

Economic adviser to the administration of Barack Obama and during Joe Biden, Lisa Cook's work as an economist focuses on the damage caused by discrimination and the consequences of economic downturns for the poor.  

Advertisements

“Dr. Cook understands how economic policy affects all Americans. She knows that workers are the engine of our economic growth and she understands that when everyone participates in our economy, it grows faster and stronger,” Democratic Senator Sherrod Brown said in a statement. 

The one whose beliefs were shaped by her childhood in Milledgeville, Georgia, bears the physical scar of racism under her right eye: she was attacked as a child while attending a school previously reserved for white students. She therefore observes in her work, the consequences of this discrimination, which, according to her, has slowed down the whole of society, and its direct victims. 

Lisa Cook is a professor of economics and international relations at Michigan State University. She is also a graduate in economics from the University of Oxford and holds a doctorate from the University of California at Berkeley. 

She speaks 5 languages including French and Russian and has also worked on Rwanda's recovery from the 1994 genocide. Her supporters believe she will bring a fresh perspective to the central bank. 

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journalist / Communicator / Bookstagramer.

INTERNATIONAL

Lisa Cook, première femme noire gouverneure de la banque centrale des Etats-Unis  

Photo : RFI

C’est décidément le tour des femmes noires d’être promues à des postes importants dans un gouvernement américain : une juge noire à la cour suprême, une vice-présidente noire, une porte-parole noire, et maintenant la gouverneure de la banque centrale des États-Unis est noire. Et tout ça, s’inscrit pour une grande première aux Etats-Unis!!  

Le mardi 10 mai dernier, le sénat américain à confirmer la nomination de Lisa Cook à la tête de la banque centrale américaine, jusqu’en janvier 2024. Elle devient ainsi la première femme, qui plus est noire, à occuper ce poste. 

Malgré l’opposition des élus républicains, qui a empêché les sénateurs de parvenir à l’organisation du vote final de confirmation, fin avril dernier, Lisa Cook, choisi par le président Joe Biden, à pu obtenir, la majorité des voix, grâce au vote de la vice-présidente Américaine, Kamala Harris. À 51 voix pour et 50 contre, Madame Cook est désormais gouverneure de la Fed, la banque centrale des États-Unis.  

Sa nomination intervient alors que la banque centrale américaine doit lutter contre une forte inflation, sans pour autant peser sur la croissance économique et l’emploi. 

Conseillère économique sur le gouvernement de Barack Obama et durant Joe Biden, le travail d’économiste de Lisa Cook est orienté sur les dommages causés par la discrimination et sur les conséquences des ralentissements économiques pour les populations pauvres.  

Advertisements

“Le Dr Cook comprend comment la politique économique affecte tous les Américains. Elle sait que les travailleurs sont le moteur de notre croissance économique et elle comprend que lorsque tout le monde participe à notre économie, elle croît plus vite et plus fort” a déclaré dans un communiqué Sherrod Brown, sénateur démocrate. 

Celle dont les convictions ont été façonnées par son enfance à Milledgeville, en Géorgie, porte sous l’œil droit la cicatrice physique du racisme : elle a été attaquée, enfant, alors qu’elle fréquentait une école auparavant réservée aux élèves blancs. Elle observe des lors dans ses travaux, les conséquences de cette discrimination, qui, selon elle, a ralenti l’ensemble de la société, et ses victimes directes. 

Lisa Cook est professeure d’économie et de relations internationales à l’Université d’État du Michigan. Elle est également diplômée en économie de l’Université d’Oxford et détient un doctorat de l’Université de Californie à Berkeley. 

Elle parle 5 langues dont le français et le Russe et a également travaillé sur le redressement du Rwanda après le génocide de 1994. Ses partisans croient qu’elle apportera une nouvelle perspective à la banque centrale. 

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journaliste / Communicatrice / Bookstagrameuse.