NETALKOLE

Abortion, is it penalized in Haiti or not? 

Listen to this article

Since the appearance of the Haitian penal code in the years 1835, abortion was considered a crime within the Haitian population. On the other hand, according to a decree which was published on June 24, 2020 by the competent authorities with the aim of modernizing the largely current penal code inspired by the Napoleon code of 1835, abortion will be decriminalized in this country in certain circumstances. 

The term abortion is defined as the interruption of the gestation process. That is to say, a development that begins at conception with the fertilization of an ovum by a spermatozoon thus forming an egg, which continues with the growth of the embryo, then of the fetus, and which ends normally. term by the birth of a new individual of the species.  

In a society where there are human beings, we must also have legal principles and standards to guarantee the proper functioning of these individuals and this society. So in all societies governed by the rule of law, the criminal law is governed by a document called "Penal Code ". It is a collection of legal rules which define the offenses or the violation of the penal law and fix the sanctions envisaged for those who commit them. The Penal Code thus clearly and precisely defines all the offenses and all the penalties applicable to them. 

This time, lawmakers have rethought the issue of abortion in Haiti in a different way. We live in a country where insecurity dominates the day-to-day headlines, more specifically food insecurity. A country where fundamental rights are not respected, namely the rights to education, health, housing, life, work, security and others. Following the violation of these rights, the majority of the Haitian population is unable to help their own family, see, support someone else. At this stage, pregnancy becomes a big deal among people who do not have enough economic means to raise their children. 

Advertisements

So, this leads us into a chaos that we call "Abortion", because most pregnant women no longer want to bear their children in the desire to fight against misery, poverty, street children and others, but they prefer a premature delivery (miscarriage). Also, sometimes it might happen in relation to their sexual partner, let's take the case of a person or a group of people who rapes a woman. She does not know the person or persons who raped her and she becomes pregnant; should she keep the child or abort? 

In this case, the new current penal code which will come into force very soon will resolve this nuance which had created a lot of conflict for several years within Haitian society “There is no offense if the pregnancy is the product of rape or incest, or where the physical or mental health of the woman is at stake. 

 All abortions must be performed with the consent of the woman, in a medical structure and during the first 12 weeks of pregnancy,” according to the new penal code. 

 On the other hand, the Napoleon penal code of 1835 of which we are using, in its article 262 states that 

 Anyone who by food, drink, medicine, violence or by any other means will have procured the abortion of a pregnant woman, whether she has consented or not, will be punished by imprisonment and this same penalty will be pronounced against the woman who will have procured the abortion for herself 

On the other hand, this old law also provides for the penalties of hard labor in time for professionals who participate in this crime, such as doctors, surgeons, pharmacists and other health officers who will have indicated or administered these means. . 

As a result, as we speak to you, abortion remains and remains penalized in Haiti as a crime (January 14, 2022). However, this will be decriminalized in the coming months, because under the presidency of Jovenel Moïse a presidential decree was issued in order to repeal some legal texts that had created inconveniences and caused harm to natural persons or morals in the old penal code.

Click to download NetAlkole News App Free

Facebook Comments

Stevinsonne Young
Stevinsonne JEUNE, journalist and editor. Graduate student in legal sciences at the State University of Haiti Law practitioner in the Delmas peace court.

NETALKOLE

L’avortement, est-il pénalisé en Haïti ou pas ? 

Listen to this article

Depuis l’apparition du code pénal haïtien dans les années 1835, l’avortement était considéré comme étant un crime au sein de la population haïtienne. Par contre, selon un décret qui a été publié en date du 24 juin 2020 par les autorités compétentes dans l’objectif de moderniser le code pénal largement actuel inspiré du code Napoléon de 1835, l’avortement sera dépénalisé dans ce pays dans certaines circonstances. 

Le terme avortement se définit comme l’interruption du processus de gestation. C’est-à-dire un développement qui commence à la conception par la fécondation d’un ovule par un spermatozoïde formant ainsi un œuf, qui se poursuit par la croissance de l’embryon, puis du fœtus, et qui s’achève normalement à terme par la naissance d’un nouvel individu de l’espèce.  

Dans une société où il y a des êtres humains, il faut qu’on a également des principes et des normes juridiques pour garantir la bonne marche de ces individus et cette société. Donc dans toutes sociétés d’État de Droit, la loi pénale est régie par un document qui s’appelle “Code pénal “. C’est un recueil de règles juridiques qui définissent les infractions ou la violation de la loi pénale et fixent les sanctions prévues pour ceux qui les commettent. Le Code pénal définit ainsi de façon claire et précise toutes les infractions et toutes les peines qui leur sont applicables. 

Cette fois-ci, les législateurs ont repensé la question de l’avortement en Haïti d’une autre façon. Nous vivons dans un pays où l’insécurité fait la une au jour le jour, plus précisément l’insécurité alimentaire. Un pays où les droits fondamentaux ne sont pas respectés, à savoir les droits à l’éducation, à la santé, au logement, à la vie, au travail, à la sécurité et d’autres. Suite à la violation de ces droits, la majorité de la population haïtienne n’est pas en mesure d’aider sa propre famille, voir, supporter quelqu’un d’autre. À cette phase, la grossesse devient une grande affaire au sein des personnes qui ne possèdent pas suffisamment de moyens économiques afin qu’elles puissent élever leurs enfants. 

Donc, ceci nous amène dans un chaos qu’on appelle “Avortement”, parce que la plupart des femmes enceintes ne veulent plus porter ses enfants dans le désir de lutter contre la misère, la pauvreté, l’enfant de rues et autres, mais elles préfèrent de préférence un accouchement prématuré (fausse couche). En outre, parfois ça pourrait produire par rapport avec leur partenaire sexuel, prenons le cas d’une personne ou un groupe de personnes qui viole une femme. Elle ne connaît pas celui ou ceux qui l’ont violée et elle tombe enceinte ; elle doit garder l’enfant ou d’avorter ? 

Dans ce cas, le nouveau code pénal en cours qui, va entrer en vigueur très bien tôt résoudre cette nuance qui avait créé beaucoup de conflit depuis plusieurs années au sein de la société haïtienne ” Il n’y a pas d’infraction si la grossesse est le produit d’un viol ou d’un inceste, ou lorsque la santé physique ou mentale de la femme est en jeu. 

 Tous les avortements doivent être pratiqués avec le consentement de la femme, dans une structure médicale et au cours des 12 premières semaines de grossesse “, selon le nouveau code pénal. 

 Par contre, le code pénal Napoléon de 1835 dont nous sommes en train d’utiliser, dans son article 262 dispose que 

 Quiconque par aliments breuvage, médicaments, violence ou par tout autre moyen aura procuré l’avortement d’une femme enceinte, soit qu’elle ait consenti ou non, sera puni de la réclusion et cette même peine sera prononcée contre la femme qui se sera procuré l’avortement à elle-même 

D’un autre côté, cette ancienne loi dispose également des peines de travaux forcés à temps pour des professionnels qui participent à ce crime, tels que les médecins, chirurgiens, des pharmaciens et d’autres officiers de santé qui auront indiqué ou administré ces moyens. 

De ce fait, le moment où on vous parle, l’avortement reste et demeure pénalisé en Haïti en tant que crime (14 janvier 2022). Cependant, celui-ci sera dépénalisé dans les mois à venir, parce que sous la présidence de Jovenel Moïse un décret présidentiel a été diffusé dans le souci pour abroger quelques textes de loi qu’avaient créé des inconvénients et causé préjudice à des personnes physiques ou morales dans l’ancien code pénal.

Facebook Comments

Stevinsonne Jeune
Stevinsonne JEUNE, journaliste et rédacteur. Étudiant finissant en sciences juridiques à l'Université d'État d'Haïti Praticien en Droit au sein du tribunal de paix de Delmas.