NETALKOLE

About 100 million doses of COVID-19 vaccine have been refused by poor countries 

Listen to this article

The United Nations announced on Thursday that about 100 million doses of the Covid-19 vaccine were refused by poor countries, donated during the month of December, mainly because of their short shelf life. 

Last December, vivid images of Nigeria disposing of more than a million doses of AstraZeneca that had exploded highlighted the problem of high-income countries monopolizing vaccine supplies. The World Health Organization (WHO) has taken the opportunity to denounce the deadly moral shame of high-income countries that do it, then dump the doses near their expiry date, to poor countries. 

In October-November, 15 million doses donated by the European Union were rejected. 75 % of these were AstraZeneca injections with a shelf life of less than 10 weeks upon arrival. 

"We've had almost over 100 million doses that have been refused due to country capacity," Etleva Kadilli, director of UNICEF's supply division, told a European Parliament committee. 

The majority of refusals are due to the shelf life of the product.” She continued, pointing out that until they have a better shelf life, countries will continue to refuse vaccines and this is going to be a pressure point for them, especially when they want to reach populations. in hard to reach areas. 

Advertisements

UNICEF uses its expertise in vaccine logistics to manage delivery flights for Covax, a global program set up to ensure the flow of doses to the countries most in need. 

Donations from the European Union account for a third of the doses delivered so far via Covax, Etleva Kadilli told lawmakers, noting that several countries were asking for deliveries to be delayed until after March, when they could better manage the pressure on the cold storage chain. 

According to Etleva Kadili, several major countries are coming back and asking for split shipments and want to push the doses to the next quarter. 

Covax is co-led by WHO, the Gavi vaccine alliance and CEPI, the Coalition for Epidemic Preparedness Innovations. Via UNICEF, it is about to deliver its billionth dose of vaccine. A tally by AFP says that globally, more than eight billion doses of COVID-19 vaccines have been administered so far in at least 219 countries. 

 149 doses per 100 people were injected in high-income countries and less than 9% in low-income countries. On December 29, the WHO announced that 92 of its 194 member states had missed their target of vaccinating 40 % of their population by the end of 2021, due to a combination of limited supply going to countries in low income and vaccines that are nearing expiry and without essential parts like syringes, according to WHO chief Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus. 

Click to download NetAlkole News App Free

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journalist / Communicator / Bookstagramer.

NETALKOLE

Environ 100 millions de doses de vaccin contre la COVID-19 ont été refusées par des pays pauvres 

Listen to this article

Les Nations Unies ont annoncé jeudi qu’environ 100 millions de doses de vaccin contre la Covid-19 ont été refusées par des pays pauvres, données au cours du mois de décembre, principalement en raison de leur courte durée de conservation. 

Décembre dernier, des images frappantes du Nigéria se débarrassant de plus d’un million de doses d’AstraZeneca qui avaient explosé, ont mis en évidence le problème des pays à revenu élevé qui monopolisent les fournitures de vaccins. L’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) en a profité pour dénoncer la honte morale mortelle des pays à revenu élevé qui Le font, puis déchargent les doses proches de la date d’expiration, vers les pays pauvres. 

En octobre-novembre, 15 millions de doses données par l’Union Européenne ont été rejetées. 75 % d’entre elles étaient des injections d’AstraZeneca avec une durée de conservation de moins de 10 semaines à l’arrivée. 

“Nous avons eu presque plus de 100 millions de doses qui ont été refusées en raison des capacités des pays”, a déclaré Etleva Kadilli, directrice de la division des approvisionnements de l’UNICEF, devant une commission du Parlement européen. 

La majorité des refus sont dus à la durée de conservation du produit.” À-t-elle poursuivit, soulignant que Jusqu’à ce qu’ils aient une meilleure durée de conservation, les pays continueront à refuser les vaccins et cela va être un point de pression pour eux, en particulier lorsqu’ils veulent atteindre les populations dans les zones difficiles d’accès. 

L’UNICEF, utilise son expertise en logistique de vaccins pour gérer les vols de livraison pour Covax, un programme mondial mis en place pour assurer un flux de doses vers les pays les plus démunis. 

Les dons de l’Union européenne représentent un tiers des doses livrées jusqu’à présent via Covax, a déclaré Etleva Kadilli aux legislateurs, soulevant que plusieurs pays demandaient que les livraisons soient reportées après mars, date à laquelle ils pourraient mieux gérer la pression sur la chaîne de stockage frigorifique. 

Selon Etleva Kadili, plusieurs grands pays reviennent et demandent des expéditions fractionnées et veulent pousser les doses vers le prochain trimestre. 

Covax est co-dirigé par l’OMS, l’alliance du vaccin Gavi et le CEPI, la Coalition for Epidemic Preparedness Innovations. Via l’UNICEF, elle est sur le point de livrer sa milliardième dose de vaccin. Un decompte réalisé par l’AFP affirme que dans le monde, plus de huit milliards de doses de vaccins contre la COVID-19 ont été administrées à ce jour dans au moins 219 pays. 

 149 doses pour 100 personnes ont été injectées dans les pays à revenu élevé et moins de 9% dans les pays à revenu faible. Le 29 décembre, l’OMS a annoncé que 92 de ses 194 États membres avaient failli à leur objectif de vacciner 40 % de leur population d’ici la fin de 2021, à cause d’une combinaison d’approvisionnement limité allant aux pays à faible revenu et les vaccins qui arrivent presque à expiration et sans pièces essentielles comme les seringues, selon ce qu’a fait savoir le chef de l’OMS, Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus. 

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journaliste / Communicatrice / Bookstagrameuse.