ART

Top 10 of the largest museums in the world 

People of all ages enjoy the culture and learning experience of visiting a beautiful museum. Getting up close to ancient artifacts, priceless artwork, or the skeletons of a prehistoric beast is enough to brighten up any afternoon.

Around the world, there are about 55,000 museums, each with their own specialty. Crossing the ages, the greatest museums in the world offer a fascinating insight into the history of the world in which we live today. 

From art to natural history, from ancient relics to cultural heritage, you will always discover something new as you wander through the halls of a museum. 

With hundreds of galleries and exhibits to explore, you could spend days wandering the halls of the world's best museums and impressing your friends when you return with all the knowledge you've gained. 

So, to prepare you for your next adventure, here are the ten greatest museums in the world. 

  1. Art Institute of Chicago: 26,000 m² (280,000 sq ft)

     Institut d'art de Chicago

    Chicago Art Institute

Chicago Art Institute is the second largest museum in the United States and the 10th in the world, Chicago Art Institute is one of the oldest and largest museums in North America. The museum was founded in 1879 and located in the city of Chicago. The collection of the Art Institute of Chicago is known for early Japanese prints, the art of the Byzantine Empire, and is famous in particular for its exceptional collection of paintings from Western culture. 

  1. National Museum of Korea – all about Korea

    Musée national de Corée

    National Museum of Korea

 Founded in 1945, the National Museum of Korea in Seoul is the flagship museum of Korean history and art in South Korea. It represents Korea's interesting history from ancient times to the modern era, with more than 220,000 objects in its collection. The National Museum of Korea is the cultural institution that represents the art and culture of Korea. 

With a gallery of 27,090 m2 (291,600 sq ft), it is the largest museum in South Korea and the third largest museum in Asia. 

  1. National Museum of Anthropology of Mexico
Musée national d'anthropologie de Mexico

National Museum of Anthropology of Mexico

The National Museum of Anthropology in Mexico City was designed by the architects Pedro Ramirez Vazquez, Jorge Campuzano and Rafael Mijares Alcerreca in 1964. 

With a 33,000 m2 (360,000 sq ft) gallery, the museum includes an array of anthropological artifacts that date back to Mexico's pre-Columbian times. 

  1. Vatican Museums

    Musées du Vatican

    Vatican Museums

Besides being one of the largest museums in the world, the Vatican Museums in Rome are also the oldest museums in the world that you can still visit today. 

Established in 1506, this 43,000 m2 (460,000 sq ft) gallery space is home to the famous Sistine Chapel. 

Advertisements

A single visit to this museum can easily take you over 2 hours. The Vatican Museums are known for their magnificent collection of works of art from antiquity. in the modern era, the museum is one of the most visited museums in the world with over 6 million visitors a year. 

6-Victoria and Albert Museum

Vatican Museums

With a gallery of 30,658 m2 (330,000 sq ft), the Victoria and Albert Museum in London is one of the largest museums in the world. 

Founded in 1852 and named after Queen Victoria and Prince Albert, the museum now has the largest collection of Italian Renaissance artefacts and post-classical sculpture outside of Italy. 

  1. Tokyo National Museum: 38,000 m² (410,000 sq ft)

    Tokyo National Museum

 Japan's largest and oldest art museum, the Japanese National Museum was established in 1872 and is located in the city of Tokyo. The museum is known for its largest collection of Japanese art and ancient Japanese culture, including samurai swords, beautiful kimonos and more, Tokyo The National Museum is the most visited museum in Japan with more than 2 million visitors in 2017. 

  1. Metropolitan Museum of Art: 58,820 m² (633,100 sq ft)

    Metropolitan Museum of Art

The collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art has over two million works of art and represents over 5,000 years of art from around the world. The Metropolitan Museum of Art is located in New York City and was established in 1870 with the goal of bringing art education to the American people, today The Metropolitan Museum of Art welcomes over 7 million visitors to its three locations. 

  1. National Museum of China: 65,000 m² (700,000 sq ft)

    National Museum of China

 China's largest art museum is located in Beijing and it is the second most visited art museum in the world with 8.6 million visitors per year. The National Museum of China was founded in 1959 and was designed with the aim of educating about the history and arts of China. The museum's collection contains approximately 1 million items covering Chinese history from 1.7 million years ago to the end of the Qing Dynasty. 

  1. Hermitage Museum: 66,842 m² (719,480 sq ft)

    Hermitage Museum

The second largest museum in the world is the Hermitage Museum. It is located in Saint Petersburg, Russia and was founded in 1764. The museum is one of the most famous museums in the world and also contains over 3 million works of art. As the largest collection of paintings in the world, in 2017 the Hermitage Museum received more than 4 million visitors. 

  1. Louvre Museum: 72,735 m² (782,910 square feet)

    Louvre Museum

The largest and most famous art museum in the world, the Louvre is located in Paris and was established in 1792. Nowadays, the Louvre becomes an attraction for every visitor to Paris. The museum was originally a royal palace before becoming a museum. The Louvre contains more than 380,000 objects and 35,000 works of art including the Mona Lisa and the Venus de Milo. In 2018 the Louvre welcomed 10.2 million visitors, making it the most visited museum in the world. 

Facebook Comments

Netalkole Media
Stay informed 7 days a week, 24 hours a day, of major Haitian and international news events.

ART

Top 10 des plus grands musées du monde 

Les gens de tous âges apprécient la culture et l’expérience d’apprentissage de visiter un beau musée. Se rapprocher d’artefacts anciens, d’œuvres d’art inestimables ou des squelettes d’une bête préhistorique suffit à égayer n’importe quel après-midi.

À travers le monde, il existe environ 55 000 musées qui ont chacun leur propre spécialité. Traversant les époques, les plus grands musées du monde offrent un aperçu fascinant de l’histoire du monde dans lequel nous vivons aujourd’hui. 

De l’art à l’histoire naturelle, des vestiges antiques au patrimoine culturel, vous découvrirez toujours quelque chose de nouveau en parcourant les salles d’un musée. 

Avec des centaines de galeries et d’expositions à explorer, vous pourriez passer des journées entières à errer dans les salles des meilleurs musées du monde et impressionner vos amis à votre retour avec toutes les connaissances que vous avez acquises. 

Alors, pour vous préparer à votre prochaine aventure, voici les dix plus grands musées du monde. 

  1. Institut d’art de Chicago : 26 000 m² (280 000 pieds carrés)

     Institut d'art de Chicago

    Institut d’art de Chicago

Institut d’art de Chicago est le deuxième plus grand musée des États-Unis et le 10e au monde, Institut d’art de Chicago est l’un des plus anciens et des plus grands musées d’Amérique du Nord. Le musée a été fondé en 1879 et situé dans la ville de Chicago. La collection de l’Art Institute of Chicago est connu pour les premières estampes japonaises, l’art de l’empire byzantin, et il est célèbre en particulier par sa collection exceptionnelle de peintures de la culture occidentale. 

  1. Musée national de Corée – tout ce qui concerne la Corée

    Musée national de Corée

    Musée national de Corée

 Fondé en 1945, le Musée national de Corée à Séoul est le musée phare de l’histoire et de l’art coréens en Corée du Sud. Il représente l’histoire intéressante de la Corée de l’Antiquité à l’ère moderne, avec plus de 220 000 objets dans sa collection. Le Musée national de Corée est l’institution culturelle qui représente l’art et la culture de la Corée. 

Avec une galerie de 27 090 m2 (291 600 pieds carrés), c’est Le plus grand musée de Corée du Sud et le troisième plus grand musée d’Asie. 

  1. Musée national d’anthropologie de Mexico
Musée national d'anthropologie de Mexico

Musée national d’anthropologie de Mexico

Le Musée national d’anthropologie de Mexico a été conçu par les architectes Pedro Ramírez Vazquez, Jorge Campuzano et Rafael Mijares Alcerreca en 1964. 

Avec une galerie de 33 000 m2 (360 000 pieds carrés), le musée comprend un éventail d’artefacts anthropologiques qui remontent à l’époque précolombienne du Mexique. 

  1. Musées du Vatican

    Musées du Vatican

    Musées du Vatican

En plus d’être l’un des plus grands musées du monde, les musées du Vatican à Rome sont également les plus anciens musées du monde que vous pouvez encore visiter aujourd’hui. 

Établi en 1506, cet espace de galerie de 43 000 m2 (460 000 pieds carrés) abrite la célèbre chapelle Sixtine. 

Advertisements

Une seule visite dans ce musée peut vous prendre facilement plus de 2 heures. Les musées du Vatican sont connus pour leur magnifique collection d’œuvres d’art de l’Antiquité. à l’ère moderne, le musée est l’un des musées les plus visités au monde par plus de 6 millions de visiteurs par an. 

6-Victoria and Albert Museum

Musées du Vatican

Avec une galerie de 30 658 m2 (330 000 pieds carrés), le Victoria and Albert Museum de Londres est l’un des plus grands musées du monde. 

Fondé en 1852 et nommé d’après la reine Victoria et le prince Albert, le musée possède aujourd’hui la plus grande collection d’objets de la Renaissance italienne et de sculptures post-classiques en dehors de l’Italie 

  1. Musée national de Tokyo : 38 000 m² (410 000 pieds carrés)

    Musée national de Tokyo

 Le musée d’art le plus grand et le plus ancien du Japon, le musée national japonais a été créé en 1872 et est situé dans la ville de Tokyo. Le musée est connu pour sa plus grande collection d’art japonais et sa culture japonaise ancienne, notamment des épées de samouraï, de beaux kimonos et plus encore, Tokyo Le Musée national est le musée le plus visité au Japon avec plus de 2 millions de visiteurs en 2017. 

  1. Metropolitan Museum of Art : 58 820 m² (633 100 pieds carrés)

    Metropolitan Museum of Art

La collection du Metropolitan Museum of Art compte plus de deux millions d’œuvres d’art et représente plus de 5000 ans d’art du monde entier. Le Metropolitan Museum of Art est situé à New York et a été créé en 1870 dans le but d’apporter éducation artistique au peuple américain, aujourd’hui Le Metropolitan Museum of Art accueille plus de 7 millions de visiteurs dans ses trois sites. 

  1. Musée national de Chine : 65 000 m² (700 000 pieds carrés)

    Musée national de Chine

 Le plus grand musée d’art de Chine est situé à Pékin et c’est le deuxième musée d’art le plus visité au monde par 8,6 millions de visiteurs par an. Le Musée national de Chine a été fondé en 1959 et a été conçu dans le but d’éduquer sur l’histoire et les arts de la Chine. La collection du musée contient environ 1 million d’articles couvrant l’histoire chinoise d’il y a 1,7 million d’années jusqu’à la fin de la dynastie Qing. 

  1. Musée de l’Ermitage : 66 842 m² (719 480 pieds carrés)

    Musée de l’Ermitage

Le deuxième plus grand musée au monde est le musée de l’Ermitage. Il est situé à Saint-Pétersbourg, en Russie et a été fondé en 1764. Le musée est l’un des musées les plus célèbres au monde et contient également plus de 3 millions d’œuvres d’art. en tant que plus grande collection de peintures au monde, en 2017, le musée de l’Ermitage a reçu plus de 4 millions de visiteurs. 

  1. Musée du Louvre : 72 735 m² (782 910 pieds carrés)

    Musée du Louvre

Le plus grand musée d’art au monde et le plus célèbre, le Louvre est situé à Paris et a été créé en 1792. De nos jours, le Louvre devient une attraction pour chaque visiteur de Paris. Le musée était à l’origine un palais royal avant de devenir un musée. Le Louvre contient plus de 380 000 objets et 35 000 œuvres d’art dont la Joconde et la Vénus de Milo, En 2018 le Louvre accueille 10,2 millions de visiteurs qui en font le musée le plus visité au monde. 

Facebook Comments

Netalkole Media
Restez informé(e) 7 jours sur 7, 24h sur 24, des événements marquants de l’actualité haitienne et internationale.