INTERNATIONAL

In Britain, calling a man bald is sexual harassment 

Photo: Saint-Malo Maville

Bringing up a man's baldness is a little joke we make, sometimes just like that. Nothing too bad, it seems. But according to a court in Great Britain, this joke is not insignificant. Calling a man bald is outright sexual harassment.  

This decision was taken by a British employment tribunal on Friday May 13, after Tony Finn filed a complaint against his former employer who called him bald. Deliberating that the qualifier was linked to the plaintiff's gender, the three judges handling the case, also suffering from baldness, determined that it was sexual harassment. 

"Commenting on a man's baldness in the workplace is tantamount to commenting on the size of a woman's breasts or buttocks," the court said. 

Tony Finn worked nearly 24 years for the British Bung Company, based in West Yorkshire, which manufactures wooden barrel closures. After his dismissal following an incident with his inspector, the electrician filed a complaint against his employer who had called him a “bald asshole.” 

 Finn told the jury that the comment about his hair upset him more than the language his boss used. Subsequently, the judges determined that by openly calling the plaintiff bald, his supervisor's conduct undermined his dignity and this behavior created an intimidating environment for him. 

Advertisements

"It is difficult not to consider that the Complainant's supervisor said these words with the intention of undermining his dignity and creating an intimidating, hostile, degrading, humiliating or offensive environment for him" 

The judges continued, while pointing out that Tony Finn's employer crossed a red line by making these remarks about the latter's appearance. According to the court, using these terms to describe a person constitutes a kind of discrimination. 

Men are more affected than women by baldness, which is a form of alopecia, an autoimmune disease that causes the human body to shed its hair. The judges then clarified that it is more likely that a man is targeted by a remark like the one received by Tony Finn. 

Compensation will be paid to him after winning the lawsuits for unfair dismissal, wrongful dismissal and sexual harassment. 

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journalist / Communicator / Bookstagramer.

En Grande-Bretagne, traiter un homme de chauve relève du harcèlement sexuel 

Sam Sarah Devilus
Sam Sarah Devilus
Photo : Saint-Malo Maville
Écoutez cet article

Évoquer la calvitie d’un homme est une petite blague que nous faisons, parfois juste comme ça. Rien de bien méchant, dirait-on. Mais selon un tribunal en Grande Bretagne, cette blague n’est pas anodine. Traiter un homme de chauve est carrément un harcèlement sexuel.  

Cette décision a été prise par un tribunal du travail Britannique le vendredi 13 mai, après que Tony Finn ait porté plainte contre son ancien employeur qui l’a traité de chauve. Délibérant que le qualificatif était lié au sexe du plaignant, les trois juges traitant le dossier, atteints eux-aussi de calvitie, ont déterminer qu’il s’agissait d’un harcèlement sexuel. 

- Advertisement -
Ad imageAd image

« Commenter la calvitie d’un homme sur le lieu de travail équivaut à faire une remarque sur la taille des seins ou des fesses d’une femme. »a déclaré le tribunal. 

Tony Finn a travaillé près de 24 ans pour la British Bung Company, basée dans le West Yorkshire, qui fabrique des fermetures de fûts en bois.  Après son licenciement à la suite d’un incident avec son inspecteur, l’électricien a porté plainte contre son employeur qui l’avait traité de « connard chauve. » 

 Finn a mentionné au jury que le commentaire sur ses cheveux l’a plus contrarié que le langage qu’avait utilisé son patron. Par la suite, les juges ont déterminé qu’en qualifiant ouvertement le plaignant de chauve, la conduite de son superviseur portait atteinte à sa dignité et ce comportement créait un environnement intimidant pour lui. 

« Il est difficile de ne pas considérer que le supérieur hiérarchique du plaignant a prononcé ces mots dans le but de porter atteinte à sa dignité et de créer un environnement intimidant, hostile, dégradant, humiliant ou offensant pour lui » 

Ont poursuivi les juges, tout en soulignant que l’employeur de Tony Finn a franchi une ligne rouge en faisant ces remarques sur l’apparence de ce dernier. Selon la cour, utiliser ces termes pour décrire une personne, constitue une sorte de discrimination. 

Les hommes sont plus touchés que les femmes par la calvitie qui est une forme d’alopécie, une maladie auto-immune qui fait en sorte que le corps humain rejette ses poils. Les juges ont alors précisé qu’il est plus probable qu’un homme soit visé par une remarque comme celle qu’a reçue Tony Finn. 

Une indemnisation lui sera versé après avoir gagné les procès pour licenciement abusif, licenciement injustifié et harcèlement sexuel. 

Facebook Comments

- Advertisement -
Partagez cet article
Follow:
Journaliste / Communicatrice / Bookstagrameuse.