NETALKOLE

The region of the brain linked to the clitoris finally identified  

The somatosensory cortex is responsible for capturing and integrating the sensory information sent by our body to our brain and each part of the body corresponds to a specific region of the somatosensory cortex. The researchers had found the place of several organs but others such as the clitoris had until then been unknown. 

A study was carried out on 20 women aged between 18 and 45 years, allowed to determine the region linking the brain and the clitoris. They had a functional MRI to probe their brains, while a tactile device stimulated their clitoris. The active brain regions then appear on the images. The results of this study were published on December 20 in the Journal of Neuroscience. 

The place of the clitoris in the somatosensory cortex would then be next to the hip, as had been observed in 2005 for the penis. These are Brodmann areas 1, 2 and 3a, located along the post-central gyrus, but the exact location varies a lot between women. 

It is also important to note that the area of the brain activated during stimulation of the clitoris is greater in women who have more sex. 

For each of the participants, the researchers measured the thickness of the ten most active areas. The goal is to make the connection between their sexual habits and the structure of their brain. This found that participants who have sex more frequently have a thicker brain in the region activated by stimulation of the clitoris, but this finding does not mean that sex makes regions of the brain grow larger or that the thickness is thicker. tall will make the woman more sensitive to clitoral stimulation, or that she would be more predisposed to have more sex than others.  

“We found an association between the frequency of intercourse and the thickness of the genital area mapped individually” 

Advertisements

A explains Christine Heim, instigator of this research. Further studies are needed to clarify the relationship between the frequency of intercourse and the thickness of the brain.  

This study on the clitoris could help better treat people who have suffered sexual violence or suffer from sexual disorders. In 2013, a study showed that people who had suffered traumatic sexual violence had a reduced genital area.  

"We hypothesized, at the time, that this could be the brain's response to limit the harmful effect of the abuse," explained Christine Heim. 

In the future, the aim is to develop ways to help these patients. She says she wants to study whether certain sexual disorders are linked to alterations in the genital area and therapies aimed at training this area could then, perhaps, be considered. 

 

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journalist / Communicator / Bookstagramer.

NETALKOLE

La région du cerveau liée au clitoris enfin identifiée  

Listen to this article

Le cortex somato-sensoriel est chargé de capter et intégrer les informations sensorielles envoyées par notre corps à notre cerveau et à chaque partie du corps correspond une région précise du cortex somato-sensoriel. Les chercheurs avaient trouvé la place de plusieurs organes mais d’autres comme le clitoris était jusque-là inconnu. 

Une étude a été réalisée sur 20 femmes âgées entre 18 à 45 ans, a permis de déterminer la région liant le cerveau et le clitoris. Elles ont passé une IRM fonctionnelle pour sonder leur cerveau, pendant qu’un dispositif tactile stimulait leur clitoris. Les régions cérébrales actives apparaissent alors sur les images. Les résultats de cette étude ont été publiés le 20 décembre dernier dans le Journal of Neuroscience. 

La place du clitoris dans le cortex somato-sensoriel serait alors à côté de la hanche, comme cela avait été observé en 2005 pour le pénis. Il s’agit des aires de Brodmann 1, 2 et 3a, situées le long du gyrus post-central, mais l’endroit exact varie beaucoup entre chaque femme. 

Il est également important de souligner que l’aire du cerveau activée lors d’une stimulation du clitoris est plus étendue chez les femmes ayant davantage de rapports sexuels. 

Pour chacune des participantes, les chercheurs ont mesuré l’épaisseur des dix zones les plus actives. Le but est de faire le lien entre leurs habitudes sexuelles et la structure de leur cerveau. Cela a révélé que les participantes qui ont des rapports sexuels plus fréquents, ont un cerveau plus épais dans la région activé par la stimulation du clitoris mais cette découverte ne veut pas dire que le sexe fait grandir des régions cérébrales ou que l’épaisseur la plus grande fera de sorte que la femme soit plus sensible aux stimulations clitoridiennes, ou qu’elle serait plus prédisposée à avoir plus de rapports sexuels que les autres.  

“Nous avons trouvé une association entre la fréquence des rapports sexuels et l’épaisseur de la région génitale cartographiée individuellement” 

Advertisements

A explique Christine Heim, instigatrice de ces recherches. D’autres études s’avèrent nécessaires pour clarifier le rapport entre la fréquence des rapports sexuels et l’épaisseur du cerveau.  

Cette étude sur le clitoris pourrait aider à mieux traiter les personnes ayant subi des violences sexuelles ou souffrant de troubles sexuels. En 2013, une étude a montré que les personnes ayant subi des violences sexuelles traumatisantes présentaient une aire génitale réduite.  

” Nous avons émis l’hypothèse, à l’époque, que cela pourrait être la réponse du cerveau afin de limiter l’effet nocif de l’abus” a expliqué Christine Heim. 

A l’avenir, le but est de développer des moyens pouvant aider ces patients. Elle dit vouloir étudier si certains troubles sexuels sont liés à des altérations de l’aire génitale et des thérapies visant à entraîner cette aire pourraient alors, peut-être, être envisagées. 

 

Click to download NetAlkole News App Free

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journaliste / Communicatrice / Bookstagrameuse.