INTERNATIONAL

The wearing of the burkini now authorized in public swimming pools in Grenoble in France, raises reactions 

Photo: Le Monde newspaper

Grenoble authorizes from May 16, the wearing of the burkini in public swimming pools for women of Muslim faith. The burkini is a lycra suit covering the body from head to toe, informally called burkini, a contraction of burqa and bikini. 

A week of controversy, a heated debate of 2.5 hours, 29 votes for, 27 against and two abstentions, that's what it took for the rules of procedure of the municipal swimming pools of Grenoble to be modified and authorize the wearing of the burkini, in accordance with the wishes of Mayor Eric Piolle. 

If the modification of the regulations of the municipal swimming pools of Grenoble is the joy of Muslim women and the association Citizen Alliance which has been campaigning since 2019 for this change, other personalities are categorically opposed to it.   

The president of the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region Laurent Wauquiez, reacting to the vote of the municipal council, accuses Mayor Piolle of breaking with secularism and the values of the French Republic. The prefect of Isère meanwhile, had made it known since Sunday that he was going to seize the administrative court of Grenoble, on the instructions of the Minister of the Interior, in order to block the measure if it were adopted. 

To do this, he will have to appeal to a provision introduced by the law on separatism voted in August 2021, which concerns acts seriously undermining the principle of secularism and neutrality of the public service. 

The elected representatives of the opposition accuse the mayor of wanting to exist in the national media whatever the cost. After the vote, they expressed their deep disappointment and announced at the same time, appeals the next day to obtain its cancellation. 

Advertisements

Deputy Eric Ciotti tabled Monday in the National Assembly, a bill to ban the burkini in public swimming pools. 

Sweeping away the objections of the opposition, the mayor of Grenoble invokes a feminist fight for health and secularism because, he maintains, nothing prohibits the wearing of religious clothing in public space, including at the swimming pool.  

He also maintains that the modification of the internal rules of the municipal swimming pools only aims to lift the aberrant clothing prohibitions, and to go against the injunctions on the body of women.  

“This fight for the freedom of their bodies for women is a fight that is close to our hearts and we want to end the clothing bans” he continued. 

This change in regulations also authorizes topless bathing for women, makes it compulsory to accompany minors from the age of 12, requires bathing caps, and the expulsion period is extended to one month in the event of bad behavior. It also requires fabric swimsuits specifically designed for swimming, with fitted shapes close to the body and for pool use only. Swimwear-shorts and unfitted outfits that are longer than mid-thigh will be prohibited. 

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journalist / Communicator / Bookstagramer.

INTERNATIONAL

Le port du burkini désormais autorisé dans les piscines publiques à Grenoble en France, soulève des réactions 

Photo : Journal Le Monde

Grenoble autorise à partir du 16 mai dernier, le port du burkini dans les piscines publiques pour les femmes de foi musulmane. Le burkini est une combinaison en lycra couvrant le corps de la tête aux pieds, officieusement appelée burkini, contraction de burqa et de bikini. 

Une semaine de polémique, un débat houleux de 2 heures 30, 29 voix pour, 27 contre et deux abstentions, c’est ce qu’il a fallu au règlement intérieur des piscines municipales de Grenoble pour être modifié et autoriser le port du burkini, conformément au souhait du maire Eric Piolle. 

Si la modification du règlement des piscines municipales de Grenoble fait la joie des musulmanes et l’association Alliance citoyenne qui milite depuis 2019 pour ce changement, d’autres personnalités s’y opposent catégoriquement.   

Le président de la région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Laurent Wauquiez, réagissant au vote du conseil municipal, accuse le maire Piolle de rompre avec la laïcité et les valeurs de la République française. Le préfet de l’Isère quant à lui, avait fait savoir depuis dimanche, qu’il allait saisir le tribunal administratif de Grenoble, sur instruction du ministre de l’Intérieur, afin de bloquer la mesure si elle était adoptée. 

Pour ce faire, il devra faire appel à une disposition introduite par la loi sur le séparatisme votée en août 2021, qui concerne les actes portant gravement atteinte au principe de laïcité et de neutralité du service public. 

Les élus de l’opposition accusent le maire de vouloir exister dans les médias nationaux quoi qu’il en coûte.  Après le vote, ils ont fait part de leur vive déception et annoncé du même coup, des recours dès le lendemain afin d’obtenir son annulation. 

Advertisements

Le député Éric Ciotti a déposé lundi même à l’Assemblée nationale, une proposition de loi visant à interdire le burkini dans les piscines publiques. 

Balayant les objections de l’opposition, le maire de Grenoble invoque un combat féministe de santé et de laïcité parce que, soutient-il, rien n’interdit le port de vêtements religieux dans l’espace public, y compris à la piscine.  

Il soutient également que la modification du règlement intérieur des piscines municipales ne vise qu’à lever les interdits vestimentaires aberrants, et à aller à l’encontre des injonctions sur le corps des femmes.  

“Ce combat pour la liberté de leurs corps pour les femmes est un combat qui nous tient à cœur et nous voulons arrêter les interdits vestimentaires” a-t-il poursuivi. 

Ce changement de règlement autorise également la baignade seins nus pour les femmes, fait obligation d’accompagnement des mineurs à partir de 12 ans, obligation des bonnets de bain, et le délai d’expulsion est porté à un mois en cas de mauvais comportement. Il exige également des maillots de bain en tissu spécifiquement conçus pour la baignade, avec des formes ajustées près du corps et un usage réservé à la piscine. Les maillots de bain-short et les tenues non ajustées donc plus longues que la mi-cuisse seront interdits. 

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journaliste / Communicatrice / Bookstagrameuse.