INVESTIGATION

The investigation into the assassination of Jovenel Moïse is botched according to the RNDDH 

L'enquête sur l'assassinat de Jovenel Moïse, toujours dans l'impasse

6 months after the murder of the former Haitian head of state, Jovenel Moïse, the National Network for the Defense of Human Rights (RNDDH) considers that the investigating judge Garry Orélien, responsible for investigating the assassination of the former president Moses is expected to speak out in this matter. 

On the night of July 6 to 7, 2021, President Jovenel Moïse was killed at his home in Pélerin 5, a locality in the town of Pétion-ville, by heavily armed men, despite the presence of his bodyguards who were settled in the vicinity of his house. As a result, in a document initialed by RNDDH dated January 6, 2022, several flouted points were raised by this organization, such as people indexed in said file, blocking of the investigation conducted by the Judicial Police, non-existence of judicial investigation and others. 

According to the National Network for the Defense of Human Rights, for justice to be served in the context of the assassination of Jovenel Moïse in the eyes of Haitian society, there are five key people who should be heard by Judge Garry Orélien so that things secrets are revealed. This is Marie Jude Gilbert who was responsible for providing precise information on the facts and actions of the victim to Joseph Félix Badio, because the latter was extinct on November 17 in the civil prison of Port-au-Prince, then the commissioner Dimitri Herard and Laguel Civil respectively in charge of bribing the agents assigned to the security of the former president Jovenel Moïse, moreover John Joël Joseph whose mission was to pay the rental costs of the vehicles that had hired to ensure the displacement of the alleged assassins, Samir Handal, Christian Emmanuel Sanon and the 47 other people who had apprehended in the context of this affair.  

On the other hand, the National Human Rights Defense Network took the opportunity to criticize the judge responsible for investigating this murder, Garry Orélien, for his negligence in the said investigation. "The magistrate should have realized the complexity of such a case and granted a rogatory commission to the central direction of the judicial police in order to deepen its investigations and provide the criminal chamber with other elements", reads. one in this document. 

Advertisements

In this case, following these findings, the RNDDH urged the judicial and police authorities to conduct a serious and impartial investigation, to hear all those who had participated or had a link with those indexed in this heinous crime. In addition, the National Network for the Defense of Human Rights also called on the competent authorities to conduct an investigation into banking institutions which the accused had used to host their accounts, in order to elucidate what happened on the night of the 6th. until July 7, 2021. 

To this end, the National Network for the Defense of Human Rights ordered the police and judicial authorities to proceed with instructions for the resumption of the judicial police investigation, to identify the banking institutions which made it possible to pay the alleged killers for the preparation and perpetration of this crime and interview all persons without distinction who spoke with those indexed in the said Assassination. 

Remember that the former Colombian soldier, Mario Antonio Palacios Palacios, 43 years old who led to the death of President Jovenel Moïse, at his home on July 7, 2021, chose to cooperate with American justice after his arrest by the FBI in Panama, therefore Palacios had asserted to the American authorities that he was recruited to provide security and participated in an operation to arrest President Jovenel Moïse. In addition, Mario Antonio Palacios Palacios said that the entire group based in Haiti participated in this operation to capture President Jovenel Moïse.   

Facebook Comments

Stevinsonne Jeune
Stevinsonne JEUNE, journalist and editor. Graduate student in legal sciences at the State University of Haiti Law practitioner in the Delmas peace court.

ENQUÊTE

L’enquête sur l’assassinat de Jovenel Moïse est bâclée selon le RNDDH 

L'enquête sur l'assassinat de Jovenel Moïse, toujours dans l'impasse
Listen to this article

6 mois après le meurtre de l’ancien chef d’État haïtien, Jovenel Moïse, le Réseau National de Défense des droits humains (RNDDH) estime que le Juge instructeur Garry Orélien, chargé d’instruire sur l’assassinat de l’ex président Moïse devrait se prononcer dans le cadre de cette affaire. 

Dans la nuit du 6 au 7 juillet 2021, le président Jovenel Moïse a été tué chez lui à Pélerin 5, une localité dans la commune de Pétion-ville, par des hommes lourdement armés, malgré la présence de ses gardes du corps qui se sont installés dans les parages de sa maison. De ce fait, dans un document paraphé par le RNDDH en date du 6 janvier 2022, plusieurs points bafoués ont été soulevés par cette organisation, tels des personnes indexées dans ledit dossier, blocage de l’enquête menée par la Police Judiciaire, inexistence d’une instruction judiciaire et d’autres. 

Selon le Réseau National de Défense des droits humains, pour que justice soit rendue dans le cadre de l’assassinat de Jovenel Moïse au regard de la société haïtienne, il y a cinq personnes clés qui devraient auditionner par le juge Garry Orélien afin que des choses secrètes soient révélées. Il s’agit de Marie Jude Gilbert qui était chargé de fournir des informations précises sur les faits et les gestes de la victime à Joseph Félix Badio, car ce dernier est éteint le 17 novembre dernier à la prison civile de Port-au-Prince, ensuite le commissaire Dimitri Herard et Laguel Civil respectivement chargés de soudoyer les agents affectés à la sécurité de l’ancien président Jovenel Moïse, de plus John Joël Joseph qu’avait pour mission de payer les frais de location des véhicules qu’avaient loué pour assurer le déplacement des présumés assassins, Samir Handal, Christian Emmanuel Sanon et les 47 autres personnes qu’avaient appréhendées dans le cadre de cette affaire.  

D’un autre côté, le Réseau National de Défense des droits humains en a profité pour critiquer le juge chargé d’instruire sur ce meurtre, Garry Orélien, pour ses négligences portées dans ladite l’enquête. ” Le magistrat aurait dû se rendre compte de la complexité d’un tel dossier et octroyer commission rogatoire à la direction centrale de la police judiciaire dans le but d’approfondir ses investigations et fournir à la chambre criminelle d’autres éléments “, lit-on dans ce document. 

Advertisements

Dans ce cas, suite à ces constats le RNDDH a exhorté les autorités judiciaires et policières de diligenter une enquête sérieuse et impartiale, auditionner tous ceux et toutes celles qu’avaient participé ou un lien avec les personnes indexées dans ce crime odieux. En outre, le Réseau National de Défense des droits humains a demandé également aux autorités compétentes de mener une enquête sur des institutions bancaires dont les accusés avaient utilisé pour héberger leur compte, afin d’élucider ce qui s’est passé dans la nuit du 6 au 7 juillet 2021. 

À cette fin, le Réseau National de Défense des droits humains a ordonné les autorités policières et judiciaires de passer aux instructions pour la reprise de l’enquête de police judiciaire, d’identifier les institutions bancaires qui ont permis de payer les présumés assassins pour la préparation et la perpétration de ce crime et auditionner toutes les personnes sans distinction qui se sont entretenues avec celles indexées dans ledit Assassinat. 

À rappeler que l’ex- militaire colombien, Mario Antonio Palacios Palacios, 43 ans ayant entraîné la mort du président Jovenel Moïse, chez lui le 7 Juillet 2021, a choisi de coopérer avec la justice américaine après son arrestation par la FBI au Panama, donc Palacios avait affirmé aux autorités américaines qu’il a été recruté pour fournir la sécurité et participé à une opération pour arrêter le président Jovenel Moïse. De plus, Mario Antonio Palacios Palacios a fait savoir que tout le groupe basé en Haïti a participé à cette opération afin de capturer le président Jovenel Moïse.   

Click to download NetAlkole News App Free

Facebook Comments

Stevinsonne Jeune
Stevinsonne JEUNE, journaliste et rédacteur. Étudiant finissant en sciences juridiques à l'Université d'État d'Haïti Praticien en Droit au sein du tribunal de paix de Delmas.