COMPANY

Why is weed celebrated on April 4 every year? 

Weed, Marie-Jeanne, beuh, ganja, or even Teush: so many names to designate one and the same thing. April 20 is recognized around the world as the day of the weed, fans of this herb meet and celebrate it in joy and in smoke and wish each other happy 420.  

Joints of various and varied sizes, chillums or water pipes, hollowed-out coconut receptacles, the imagination of herb lovers is boundless when it comes to celebrating the day of April 20, called “Weed Day” or “420 ”. In US states where weed is legal, large gatherings are held in parks or other public places.  

Apart from large gatherings, others meet with friends or family to share a joint. This practice would be, according to the followers of the tradition, more in keeping with the spirit of the 420. 

The term has taken on such importance that 4:20 a.m. has traditionally become the most auspicious time to light a joint, and April 20 (4/20 for English speakers) is unofficially an international day of celebration. 

But what is the origin of this celebration?  

Several theses try to explain the expression 420. The most widespread would be that a group of young teenagers in 1971, met at four twenty, after lessons, to smoke, under the statue of Louis Pasteur at the secondary school San Rafael, before setting off together in search of a legendary cannabis plantation that would have been abandoned by a coast guard at the time. They never found her, and “420” then became their secret code for meeting up, searching for their treasure without being detected, and talking about weed. 

The expression was later spread by the group Grateful Dead from San Francisco, thanks to their notoriety and a series of tours. The group became aware of this expression and the meetings, thanks to the older brother of one of the teenagers, friend with Phil Lesh, the bass player of the group. 

The 420 is both a celebration and a protest against what some see as excessive drug laws. 

Facebook Comments

Sam Sarah Devilus
Journalist / Communicator / Bookstagramer.

Pourquoi la weed est célébrée le 4 avril de chaque année ? 

Sam Sarah Devilus
Sam Sarah Devilus
Écoutez cet article

Weed, Marie-Jeanne, beuh, ganja, ou encore Teush : autant de noms pour désigner une seule et même chose. Le 20 avril est reconnu dans le monde comme étant le jour de la weed, les fans de cette herbe se rencontrent et le célèbrent dans la joie et dans la fumée et se souhaitent happy 420.  

Joints de tailles diverses et variées, chillums ou pipes à eau, réceptacles en noix de coco évidée, l’imagination des amateurs d’herbes est sans bornes quand il faut célébrer la journée du 20 avril, baptisée « Weed Day » ou le « 420 ». Dans les États américains où l’herbe est légalisée, de grands rassemblements sont organisés dans des parcs ou autres lieux publics.  

- Advertisement -
Ad imageAd image

En dehors des grands rassemblements, d’autres se retrouvent entre amis ou en famille pour se partager un joint. Cette pratique serait, selon les adeptes de la tradition, plus conforme à l’esprit du 420. 

Le terme a pris une telle ampleur que 4 h 20 est devenue l’heure la plus propice selon la tradition, pour s’allumer un joint, et le 20 avril (4/20 pour les anglophones) est officieusement un jour international de célébration. 

Mais quelle est l’origine de cette célébration ?  

Plusieurs thèses tentent d’expliquer l’expression 420. La plus répandue serait qu’un groupe de jeunes adolescents en 1971, se réunissaient à quatre heures vingt, après les cours, pour fumer, sous la statue de Louis Pasteur à l’école secondaire San Rafael, avant de partir tous ensemble à la recherche d’une légendaire plantation de cannabis qui aurait été abandonnée par un garde-côte, à l’époque. Ils ne l’ont jamais trouvée, et « 420 » est alors devenu leur code secret pour se donner rendez-vous, partir à la recherche de leur trésor sans se faire repérer, et pour parler de weed. 

L’expression fut par la suite répandue par le groupe Grateful Dead originaires de San Francisco, grâce à leur notoriété et une série de tournées. Le groupe a pris connaissance de cette expression et des rencontres, grâce au grand frère de l’un des adolescents, ami avec Phil Lesh, le bassiste du groupe. 

Le 420 est à la fois une célébration et une protestation contre ce que certains considèrent comme des lois excessives contre la drogue. 

Facebook Comments

- Advertisement -
Partagez cet article
Follow:
Journaliste / Communicatrice / Bookstagrameuse.