I-TECH

Elon Musk offers to buy Twitter for $41.3 billion, saying the company 'needs to be transformed' 

Tesla CEO Elon Musk is offering to buy Twitter, a quick turnaround just days after deciding not to join the social media company's board.  

Twitter Inc. said in a regulatory filing on Thursday that Musk provided a letter to the company on Wednesday with a proposal to buy the remaining shares. The 50-year-old business mogul, the world's richest man, already owns 9% of Twitter stock, making him the largest shareholder. 

In the letter, Musk offered 54.20 $ per share on Twitter, which amounts to $41.3 billion, and said it would be his final offer. Musk's offer is slightly larger than Twitter's current market capitalization of $36.7 billion. 

“I invested in Twitter because I believe in its potential to be the platform for free speech around the world, and I believe that free speech is a societal imperative for a functioning democracy” , Musk said in the proposal. “However, since making my investment, I now realize that the business will not thrive or serve this societal imperative in its current form. Twitter needs to be turned into a private company. 

Musk has revealed in recent weeks that he's been buying shares in near-daily batches starting Jan. 31, prompting Twitter to offer Musk a seat on its board of directors on the condition he doesn't hold more than 14.9 % of the company's outstanding shares, according to a filing. But Musk backed out of the deal and launched a series of since-deleted tweets about how to improve the business — all before that takeover attempt. 

Board members challenged his rise to 9% in stock and filed a lawsuit on Tuesday on behalf of Twitter shareholders, arguing that Musk failed to file a Schedule 13 with the SEC on time. and had instead continued to rack up Twitter shares. “By failing to disclose his stake in a timely manner, Musk was able to acquire shares of Twitter cheaply during the Class Period,” the lawsuit states. 

The SEC sued Musk after he tweeted in August 2018 that his funding was secured to take Tesla private at 420,$ per share, but that never materialized, while driving Tesla's stock price higher. . This resulted in Musk and Tesla paying $40 million in civil fines, and Musk had his tweets cleared by a corporate attorney. 

Twitter jumped more than 12% in premarket trading after the billionaire's statement. Wedbush Securities analyst Dan Ives wrote in a note to clients on Thursday that the power shift would result in Twitter's board "being forced to accept this offer and/or initiate an active process to sell Twitter”. 

"There will be a slew of questions about Musk's (Tesla, SpaceX) funding, regulations, time balancing in the coming days, but ultimately based on this filing, it's an offer now or never for Twitter to accept,” Ives said. “The next step will be for the Twitter board to formally review Musk's filing/letter and then release popcorn time, as we expect a lot of twists and turns in the coming weeks as Twitter and Musk will take the marriage route.”  

Facebook Comments

I-TECH

Elon Musk propose d’acheter Twitter pour 41,3 milliards de dollars, affirmant que l’entreprise “doit être transformée” 

Le PDG de Tesla, Elon Musk, propose d’acheter Twitter, un virage rapide quelques jours seulement après avoir décidé de ne pas rejoindre le conseil d’administration de la société de médias sociaux.  

Twitter Inc. a déclaré jeudi dans un dossier réglementaire que Musk avait fourni une lettre à la société mercredi avec une proposition d’achat des actions restantes.  Le magnat des affaires de 50 ans, l’homme le plus riche du monde, détient déjà 9% des actions de Twitter, ce qui en fait le principal actionnaire. 

Dans la lettre, Musk a offert 54,20 $ par action sur Twitter, qui s’élève à 41,3 milliards de dollars, et a déclaré que ce serait sa dernière offre.  L’offre de Musk est légèrement supérieure à la capitalisation boursière actuelle de Twitter de 36,7 milliards de dollars. 

“J’ai investi dans Twitter car je crois en son potentiel d’être la plate-forme de la liberté d’expression dans le monde entier, et je pense que la liberté d’expression est un impératif sociétal pour une démocratie qui fonctionne”, a déclaré Musk dans la proposition.  “Cependant, depuis que j’ai fait mon investissement, je réalise maintenant que l’entreprise ne prospérera ni ne servira cet impératif sociétal dans sa forme actuelle.  Twitter doit être transformé en une entreprise privée. 

Musk a révélé au cours des dernières semaines qu’il avait acheté des actions par lots presque quotidiens à partir du 31 janvier, ce qui a incité Twitter à offrir à Musk un siège à son conseil d’administration à condition qu’il ne détienne pas plus de 14,9 % des actions en circulation de la société, selon un dépôt.  Mais Musk a renoncé à l’accord et a lancé une série de tweets supprimés depuis sur la façon d’améliorer l’entreprise – le tout avant cette tentative de prise de contrôle. 

Advertisements

Les membres du conseil d’administration ont contesté sa montée à 9% des actions et ont intenté une action en justice mardi au nom des actionnaires de Twitter, arguant que Musk n’avait pas déposé d’annexe 13 auprès de la SEC dans les délais requis et avait plutôt continué à accumuler des actions Twitter.  “En omettant de divulguer sa participation en temps opportun, Musk a pu acquérir des actions de Twitter à moindre coût pendant la période de recours”, indique le procès. 

La SEC a poursuivi Musk après avoir tweeté en août 2018 que son financement était garanti pour faire de Tesla une société privée à 420 $ par action, mais cela ne s’est jamais concrétisé, tout en faisant grimper le cours de l’action de Tesla.  Cela a conduit Musk et Tesla à payer 40 millions de dollars d’amendes civiles et Musk a fait approuver ses tweets par un avocat d’entreprise. 

Twitter a bondi de plus de 12% dans les échanges avant commercialisation après la déclaration du milliardaire.  L’analyste de Wedbush Securities, Dan Ives, a écrit jeudi dans une note aux clients que le changement de pouvoir conduirait le conseil d’administration de Twitter à “être forcé d’accepter cette offre et/ou de lancer un processus actif pour vendre Twitter”. 

“Il y aura une multitude de questions sur le financement, la réglementation, l’équilibrage du temps de Musk (Tesla, SpaceX) dans les prochains jours, mais en fin de compte, sur la base de ce dossier, c’est une offre maintenant ou jamais pour Twitter à accepter”, a déclaré Ives.  “La prochaine étape sera que le conseil d’administration de Twitter examinera officiellement le dossier / la lettre de Musk, puis sortira l’heure du pop-corn, car nous nous attendons à de nombreux rebondissements dans les semaines à venir alors que Twitter et Musk emprunteront la voie du mariage.”  

Facebook Comments

Jeff Blanc
Technology Expert, Owner of Awobaz Digital Tech Solutions - Haiti Broadcasting - NetAlKole . Host Podcast @konvesasyonitil General Manager @tvachaine30 | Sitwayen @angajeayiti